Top Story


Home >> Media - Radio >> Article

McCann Erickson, Leo Burnett dominate Mirchi Kaan Awards

Font Size   16
McCann Erickson, Leo Burnett dominate Mirchi Kaan Awards

Radio Mirchi on Friday, May 8, 2009 announced the winner of the sixth Mirchi Kaan Awards in Mumbai for the best radio commercials heard across FM radio in 2008. There were 750 entries from creative agencies across the country competing in 15 categories.

The theme for the sixth Mirchi Kaan Awards was ‘Vote against Mediocrity.’ This time there were 10 Golds, 12 Silvers and 40 Bronzes to be given away. These metals include both single as well as campaign awards.

McCann Erickson walked away with Agency of the Year award, bagging 21 awards, including four Golds for Chlormint Fresh Fills and Chlormint, five Silvers for Chlormint Fresh Fills and Chevrolet Aveo, and 11 Bronzes.

Leo Burnett won 14 awards, of which Leo Burnett Mumbai won one Gold for ‘Lingo Sound Design’, one singles Silver for Shiksha and nine Bronzes.

Mudra bagged eight awards, including the ‘Crystal Award’ for the most exceptional radio commercial of the year, which was won by DDB Mudra. Bates 141 bagged three metals – one Gold for Virgin Mobile, and two Silvers, again for Virgin Mobile. Rediffusion Y&R, four metals, including one Silver; Pickle Advertising, two Golds for SAB TV; O&M, five Bronzes; while Publicis bagged four Bronzes.

Among the special awards, McCann Erickson won the ‘Agency of the Year’ Award. The ‘Crystal Award’ was given to DDB Mudra for the most exceptional radio commercial of the year. ‘Client of the Year’ this year was awarded to Chlormint - Perfetti Van Mele. Musica won the ‘Production of the Year’ Award, while Akshay Kapnadak - Chevrolet Aveo (Puff Daddy) was declared the ‘Voice of the Year’. The ‘Child Voice of the Year’ Award went to Vidit Mishra for Hindi daily Hindustan. Contract Advertising India bagged a Gold for Tata Indicom, while Lowe Bangalore got one Silver for Britannia 50-50.

Prashant Panday, CEO, ENIL (Radio Mirchi), said, “Mirchi Kaan Awards is our token of appreciation for creative minds that craft brilliant ads in a non-visual medium like radio with ease and finesse. We have been privileged to have the support of an eminent jury and the best creative and advertising minds in our unstinting endeavour to promote and encourage talent that delivers the best in radio.”

This year, the jury comprised Agnello Dias, Ashish Khazanchi, Bobby Pawar, Deepa Krishnan, Gullu Sen, Josy Paul, KS Chakravarthi, KV Sridhar, Mohammed Khan, Piyush Pandey, Pradeep Sarkar, Prahlad Kakkar, Prasoon Joshi, Priti Nair, Pratap Suthan, R Balakrishnan, Rajat Dholakia, Ram Sampath, Ramanuj Shastry, Ramesh Ramanathan, Ravi Deshpande, Rekha Nigam, Senthil Kumar, Shantanu Moitra, Suguna Swami and Sunil Thoppil.


Anil Uniyal, CEO, Bloomberg|Quint, on his business objectives, the reason behind pushing back the launch of the channel and more

Oracle India believes that marketing has entirely evolved because of the change in the buying process of customers

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company

Aparna Bhosle, Business Cluster Head - Premium & FTA GEC channels - ‎ZEEL, on its new property, sponsors, investment on acquisition and response to BBC First

Accessible luxury footwear brand Oceedee has launched its digital-first brand campaign to unveil its proposition - Strut Your Quirk

A stylish new global advertising campaign celebrating the art of living well – the ‘Art of Savoir-Vivre’ - brings to life the heart and soul of Belmond and its global travel experiences –a world full...