Top Story


Home >> Media - Radio >> Article

ERAA 2010: Winners announced; Leo Burnett, Percept Media, Big Bazaar, Vodafone shine

Font Size   16
ERAA 2010: Winners announced; Leo Burnett, Percept Media, Big Bazaar, Vodafone shine

There was much loud cheering, whistle blowing and drum beating as the winners of the inaugural exchange4media Radio Advertising Awards (ERAA) were announced on October 7, 2010 at the Sahara Star in Mumbai. The big night saw participants in full attendance and in high spirits. Oye! FM was sponsoring ERAA 2010.

Welcoming the audience, Anurag Batra, MD & Editor-in-Chief, exchange4media Group, said, “The idea of ERAA was conceptualised six months back. Radio as a medium has been galloping and thriving, as once very rightly Apoorva Purohit, CEO, Radio City, had mentioned. So, we thought we should evangelise advertising in this medium. We want this Award show to be the industry’s only neutral, credible and the unitary currency that can promote great advertising on radio. We are proud to say that exchange4media is only the custodian of this process. I would also like to thank the informed and eclectic Jury. There were three criterions for selecting the jury – the person has to be respected in the industry, no direct stake in radio platform and should have domain expertise. And henceforth, we now hope to get 1,000-plus entries next year.”

Speaking on the occasion, Lynn de Souza, Chairman and CEO, Lintas Media Group and Chairperson of the ERAA Jury, said that it was a pleasure to be part of ERAA 2010. She remarked, “As a media person, radio is my favourite medium. These days, the industry is enamored by digital. But radio is quietly doing exceptionally well. It has the highest growth rate compared to other mediums. There has been an explosion in listenership, but the ad revenue hasn’t kept pace despite radio channels having brought out creativity in the medium, and moreover it is the most engaging medium. As Chairperson at ERAA, I observed that most of the entries were well crafted. In this Award, we have encouraged language, retail, and small towns. I am not a big fan of award shows, but it was fun to be a part of the jury which had a RJ, an actor, a marketing guy and a creative guy. In the future, ideas belong to everybody. Thus, everybody should be acknowledged and encouraged.”

G Krishnan, Executive Director and CEO, TV Today, complimented Batra and his team and said, “I have always been and will be a great supporter of radio awards. In fact, 17 years ago, I was part of the first private radio station. And since then, there has been a huge revolution. The ability of radio is so powerful now delivering local content and managing to attract good talent into the industry. The industry is now opening up to new possibilities for employment in this medium as youth have a great capability of expressing themselves. And above all, radio ads can be done at a low cost, but mind you, 60 per cent of the listenership comes from the mobile. Thus, here’s wishing the team all the best for the next and many more years to come with ERAA.”

The distinguished Jury panel has had an important role in making a success of ERAA and has highly appreciated the quality of entries received. The distinguished Jury members include Chairperson Lynn de Souza, Chairman and CEO, Lintas Media Group; KV Sridhar, NCD, Leo Burnett; Agnello Dias, Co-Founder and CCO, Taproot India; Anupam Vasudev, EVP, Marketing and Communications, STAR India Pvt Ltd; Piyush Mishra, Actor, Music Director, Lyricist and Writer; Anup Jain, Head, Marketing, Pizza Hut; Sidharth Rao, Founder and CEO, Webchutney; Gopinath Menon, Strategic Media Consultant; Titus Upputuru, ECD, Saatchi & Saatchi; Harish Bhimani, well-known voiceover talent and voice actor; Vinay Bhatia, VP, Marketing and Loyalty, Shoppers Stop; Nitin Mathur, Senior Director, Marketing, Yahoo India; Rameet Arora, Senior Director, Marketing, McDonalds; Loveleen Tandan, Film Director; Actor Purab Kohli; and Yuri, RJ and Actor.

Entries were received from the cross-section of the industry for the 22 Awards categories. The evaluation of received entries was based upon the creativity of conception, the quality of the execution, and the achievement of the stated objective.

The exchange4media Radio Advertising Awards have been established to recognise work done in the field of radio advertising in the period July 2009 to June 2010. Awards were given away in 22 categories for the inaugural ERAA, which had been divided into four broad categories – media, creative, broadcaster and excellence awards.


Murthy hinted on a launch of a digital product sometime soon as competition continues to heat up

Anil Uniyal, CEO, Bloomberg|Quint, on his business objectives, the reason behind pushing back the launch of the channel and more

Oracle India believes that marketing has entirely evolved because of the change in the buying process of customers

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company

Shruti Singh, a journalist with NDTV for over 20 years, defends the network even as former employees accuse it of axing stories

MRSS India has appointed market research professionals, Madhumita Chattopadhyay as Vice President, Praveen Mettelu as Research Director and R Kumar as Consultant

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company