AROI elects Radio City’s Apurva Purohit as President

AROI elects Radio City’s Apurva Purohit as President

Author | Pallavi Goorha | Tuesday, Sep 18,2007 10:03 AM

AROI elects Radio City’s Apurva Purohit as President

The first Annual General Meeting of the Association of Radio Operators of India (AROI) was held on September 17 this year in the spirit of high co-operation and interaction between the various radio operators of the nation. The first AGM meeting saw the successful completion of elections for the Governing Board wherein almost all positions were elected unanimously.

It was decided that the Governing Board of AROI would comprise a central National Governing Board along with a Regional Governing Board with equal representation from the Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western regions of India. Small operators will also be represented through a special Board for them.

Apurva Purohit, CEO, Radio City, who has been appointed as the first elected President, spearheads the National Governing Board. The Board also comprises four Senior Vice Presidents -- Abraham Thomas, CEO, Red FM; Prashant Pandey, CEO, ENIL; Tarun Katial, COO, Big FM; and Rahul Gupta, Director and Project Head, Jagran Radio. Uday Chawla, GM-Commercial, India Today Group, would serve as Secretary General to this Board.

The Regional Governing Board comprises four Vice Presidents, each representing a region. Harrish Bhatia from Bhaskar Group will represent Northern India; the Western region will be headed by S Keerthi Varan from Hindustan Times, along with Gitanjali Sehgal from Century Communications as General Secretary. Nisha Narayanan of SFM and Monica Nayyar Patnaik of Eastern Media as General Secretary would represent the Eastern region. The Southern region will be headed by George Sebastian from Matrubhumi along with Rajiv Nambiar from Hello FM as General Secretary.

It was decided that Ashok Narayan of ECM as Vice President, along with Bobby Gupta from CCL Media as General Secretary, would represent the Small Operators Board. A decision was taken that the nominees of other major operators like Malayala Manorama and Kal FM, among others, will be nominated to the Governing Board at the next Governing Body meeting.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment