Top Story


Home >> Media - Radio >> Article

AP Parigi named 2009 Rensselaer Entrepreneur of the Year

Font Size   16
AP Parigi named 2009 Rensselaer Entrepreneur of the Year

Amba Preetham Parigi, Managing Director, Entertainment Network India Ltd, and Managing Director & CEO of Times Infotainment Media Ltd, is the 2009 William F Glaser ’53 Rensselaer Entrepreneur of the Year. The award will be conferred on Parigi by the Severino Center for Technological Entrepreneurship in the Lally School of Management & Technology, Rensselaer’s business school, at a special ceremony in April 2009.

Parigi is credited with developing Radio Mirchi, the country’s largest private radio network, into a power brand and one of the fastest growing media platforms, with a footprint of more than 200 million people across 32 cities, and broadcasting in 10 languages throughout India, all within just seven years of inception.

“He is a man of great humanity with profound commitment to ‘giving back’. As a citizen of the world, Parigi serves as a fitting example of the compassionate entrepreneur,” said, David Gautschi, Dean of the Lally School of Management & Technology.

Gautschi further said, “Parigi has been a valuable and active member of the advisory council of the Lally School of Management & Technology for nearly three years. His perspectives on transitioning economies around the world, especially on the Indian Sub-continent, and his interpretation of the transformations of economies and societies that new media can induce are trenchant and actionable for us.”

Established in 1990, the William F Glaser ’53 Rensselaer Entrepreneur of the Year Award salutes successful entrepreneurs who, in turn, are important role models for the students of Rensselaer. Those honoured with the Award bring the world of entrepreneurship into Rensselaer’s classrooms and laboratories, sharing their experience and wisdom with all students.

In accordance with Glaser’s wishes, the award has honoured a diversity of successful entrepreneurs. Parigi joins such illustrious past recipients as Warren Bruggeman '46, former Vice-President and General Manager of GE’s Nuclear Business Operations; Fred Smith, Chairman, President, and CEO of FedEx Corporation; James Crowe, CEO of Level 3 Communications; Paul Severino, Founder and Chairman of Bay Networks; and Tom Le Fevre, Co-founder of Intuit.


Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

Under the watchful eye of Walt Disney, Bindass undergoes brand repackaging with a fresh new show ‘Dil Buffering’ simulcast across its linear and social media platforms on September 29 and will launch...

Apart from the mandate for the first project which is the Ashiana Town in Bhiwadi, Tomorrow and InterTwined will deliver brand solutions across film, print, radio, outdoor and activation besides provi...

Despite advertising picking up after a slow Q1, regional FM players still feel that the lingering effect of GST, RERA, demonetisation will still make its impact felt during the upcoming festive quarte...