Top Story


Home >> Media – Print >> Article

WAN elects new Board members; Gavin O’Reilly re-elected President

Font Size   16
WAN elects new Board members; Gavin O’Reilly re-elected President

The Annual General Meeting of World Association of Newspapers culminated with the election of new Board members on June 4. Gavin O’Reilly, COO of Ireland-based Independent News & Media PLC, has been re-elected President of WAN for a third term of two years. The AGM was part of the World Newspaper Congress and World Editors Forum in Göteborg, Sweden, that concluded on June 4.

The events, the global meetings of the world’s press, drew more than 1,500 publishers, editors and other senior newspaper executives from 113 countries.

As Chief Operating Officer of Independent News & Media, O’Reilly oversees a leading international newspaper group with more than 200 titles in Ireland, the UK, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and India.

As President of WAN, O’Reilly has spearheaded a number of global initiatives for the industry, notably creation of the Automated Content Access Protocol to protect intellectual property rights of on-line publishers, and the formation of the News Media Coalition to defend open news coverage of sports and other events. WAN has also undertaken numerous press freedom and industry support initiatives during his tenure.

Fred Arp, Chief Financial Officer of the Telegraaf Media Group in the Netherlands, was re-elected Treasurer of WAN.

New Board members from 13 countries were also elected on June 4 – Frédéric Aurand, Board Chairman of Groupe Hersant Media, France; Oyungerel Batnasan, Executive Director of the Newspaper Association of Mongolia; Indira Crasnea, Deputy Chief Editor of Mediafax, Romania; Philip Crawley, Publisher & CEO of the Globe & Mail, Canada; Mathias Döpfner, CEO & Chairman, Axel Springer, Germany; Dahlan Iskan, Publisher and Chief Editor of the Jawa Post, Indonesia; Tibor Kovacs, CEO of Nepszabadsag, Hungary; Remzi Lani, Director of the Albanian Media Institute; François Le Hodey, CEO of SA Informations et Productions Multimedia, Belgium; Jaime Mantilla Anderson, Director General of Hoy, Ecuador; Veaceslav Perunov, Director of the Association of Independent Press, Moldova; Sinha Ratnatunga, Editor-in-chief of The Sunday Times, Sri Lanka; Mikhel Reinsalu, CEO of Eesti Pävaleht, Estonia; and Nelson Sirotsky, President and CEO of Grupo RBS, Brazil.

The next Annual General Meeting of WAN would be held on March 25, 2009, during the 62nd World Newspaper Congress and 16th World Editors Forum in Hyderabad.


Aparna Bhosle, Business Cluster Head - Premium & FTA GEC channels - ‎ZEEL, on its new property, sponsors, investment on acquisition and response to BBC First

In an interview with exchange4media, Ferzad Palia says that most successful brands are not those who spend the most money

As Milind Pathak takes over as Managing Director - Southeast Asia, Httpool, we chat with him on his new role, aspirations and his plans to aggressively penetrate the operations of the group in the Southeast Asian market

The group released the Little Hearts online-only campaign, #BreakSomeHearts, early this year and is on the path to make many more of its brands available on the digital platform

Though business has picked up, the private FM industry expects festive ad spends to be subdued compared to 2016