Top Story


Home >> Media – Print >> Article

Sunil Dang elected President of Indian Languages Newspapers Association

Font Size   16
Sunil Dang elected President of Indian Languages Newspapers Association

The Indian Languages Newspapers Association (ILNA) elected its new office bearers at the 65th AGM of the organisation held in New Delhi on July 15, 2006. Sunil Dang, Editor of DayAfter and E & P Rajdhani Times, was elected the President.

Speaking about his key focus area, Dang said that he would emphasise on expanding the membership base to all corners of the country. At present, the membership of ILNA is concentrated in the Western region of the country. “I aim to take the membership of ILNA above 1,000 from its present 400 in a year or two. I will also work towards making ILNA a well-recognised body at national and international levels.”

Speaking about the resolution passed at the meeting, Dang said, “We will work together and pressurise the government for a financial package for the language newspapers in India, who actually send across the message of the government to the rural masses. We will also demand a price-based schedule for newspapers so that there will be a level playing field among the big and small newspapers, which will ensure healthy competition.”

The other new office bearers of ILNA include V K Chopra of Gavakari Prakashan (Nasik) and Krishna Shewdikar of Shramik Ek Joot (Nanded), who were elected as Vice-Presidents. Pradeep Despande of Tarun Bharat (Belgaum); Anil Agarwal, Amravati Mandal (Amravati); and Sandeep Kulshrestha of Lok Nabj (Ujjain) have been elected as General Secretaries. Chanderkant Bhave of Lok Nabj has been elected as the Treasurer.

The newly elected Executive Committee members include Punit Jain of Nav Bharat Times, Paresh Nath of Delhi Press, Rajendra Sharma of Swadesh (Bhopal), Nazir Ahmed of Ujjain Doot, Anil Agarwal of Amravati Mandal, C V Bhabe of Dauk (Thane) and M B Wani of Yawal Samachar.

The Co-opted members include Satya Prakash Aseem of Aj (Lucknow); Chetanya Kashyap of Chetna (Ratlam); Prakash Pohare of Deshonnati (Nagpur); Arvind Chopra of Punjab Kesari (Delhi); Bal Ambekar of Jivhala (Satara); Satish Agarwal of Police Mahati (Aurangabad); Y K Narayanpurkar of Marathwada Police Times (Aurangabad) and Kirit Khamar of Maha Gujarat (Patan).


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Viacom 18 promises to announce new release date soon

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship