Top Story


Home >> Media – Print >> Article

INS elections 2008-09: Hormusji N Cama is President; Paresh Nath is again Deputy President

Font Size   16
INS elections 2008-09: Hormusji N Cama is President; Paresh Nath is again Deputy President

The Indian Newspaper Society (INS) has elected Mumbai Samachar’s Hormusji N Cama as President for 2008-09 at its 69th Annual General Meeting. Cama replaces Gujarat Samachar’s Bahubali Shah. Paresh Nath of Delhi Press is the Deputy President, a post which he held last year as well. It may be recalled that Cama was INS President in 2006-07.

The elections were held in Bangalore on Friday, September 19, 2008.

T Venkattram Reddy of Deccan Chronicle has been elected Vice-President, while Rakesh Sharma of Hindustan Times is the Treasurer. Both of them held these posts in the previous year too. V Shankaran is the Secretary of the Society.

Cama told immediately after being elected, “There is a trend of print attracting readers back to its fold. We have innovative ideas to make print happening to people.” He also said that “the highest priority right now is WAN”.

INS has successfully bid for hosting the first ever World Newspaper Congress, to be held in Hyderabad on March 22-25, 2009.

In his presidential address at the AGM, Bahubali Shah said, “There were times during the year, when on behalf of INS I had to voice our views to the concerned Governments with regard to the violence inflicted upon some of our members and threat to our Constitutional Right to Freedom of Expression.”

He added, “Despite all odds, our industry continued to grow at a decent pace for the 50th year in succession with increasing circulation, readership and growth in advertising revenues. We have so far successfully met the challenges of competition from the broadcast and new media, but this may not last unless we come up with new business models. This is where initiatives like the World Newspaper Congress and collaboration with bodies like the International Newspaper Marketing Association can be helpful.”

The other members of the Executive Committee of INS are:

1. BS Adityan (Vaarantari Rani)
2. L Adimoolam (Health & The Antiseptic)
3. Girish Agarwal (Dainik Bhaskar, Bhopal)
4. Tariq Ansari (Mid-day)
5. Ashish Bagga (India Today)
6. Samahit Bal (Pragativadi)
7. PV Chandran (Grihalakshmi)
8. VK Chopra (Dainik Asom) 9. Devendra Darda (Lokmat Times)
10. Jagjit Singh Dardi (Charhdikala Daily)
11. Bhaskar Das (Maharashtra Times)
12. Ravindra Dhariwal (Navbharat Times)
13. Mahendra Mohan Gupta (Dainik Jagran)
14. Pradeep Gupta (Dataquest)
15. Shailesh Gupta (Dainik Jagran, Varanasi)
16. Shekhar Gupta (Loksatta, Mumbai)
17. Sanjay Hazari (The Tribune)
18. Mohit Jain (Economic Times)
19. KN Tilak Kumar (Prajavani)
20. Ravindra Kumar (The Statesman)
21. R Lakshmipathy (Dinamalar)
22. Atul Maaheshwari (Amar Ujala)
23. Vilas A Marathe (Dainik Hindustan, Amravati)
24. Naresh Mohan (Sunday Statesman)
25. Abhijit Pratap Pawar (Gomantak, Goa)
26. Maheshwer Peri (Outlook)
27. RMR Ramesh (Dinakaran)
28. Somesh Sharma (Rashtradoot Saptahik)
29. Manoj Kumar Sonthalia (Kannada Prabha)
30. Kiran B Vadodaria (Sambhaav Metro)
31. M Venkatesh (Hindustan Times, New Delhi)
32. Kundan R Vyas (Vyapar)
33. Vijay Darda (Lokmat)
34. Mammen Mathew (Malayala Manorama)
35. Vijay Kumar Chopra (Punjabi Kesari, Jalandhar)
36. Pratap G Pawar (Sakal)
37. Abhay Chhajlani (Nai Dunia)
38. MP Veerendrakumar (Mathrubhumi)
39. Pradeep Guha (Divya Bhaskar)
40. Jacob Mathew (Vanitha)
41. Bahubali S Shah (Gujarat Samachar)


Baba Ramdev brought his sharp wits for an interview with e4m where he promised to disrupt more markets and spoke about he the way he created a brand through consistent and selfless work

GroupM is in talks with several digital clients currently with its other agencies to shift them to Essence, which is looking at a major expansion plan in 2018

Thomas, Chief Marketing Officer, Diageo India, gives us a peek into the marketing strategy for McDowell’s No 1 Soda, its creation of ‘No 1 Yaari Jam,’ their own set of 4Ps and importance of content

NewsCode, a hyper local online news platform was launched last night with a network of over 350 local reporters in Karnataka and Jharkhand. Apurv Swarup, the co-founder talked to Exchange4Media about his vision

Voot, which is producing almost 4X content on an overall basis on the reality drama, is gunning for big numbers both on viewership and advertising revenue

YouTube today released its annual year-end edition of the YouTube Ads Leaderboard 2017 capturing the most celebrated ads that received maximum views, shares, and love from audiences across India

Real world study of Appier's network shows significant benefits of AI over traditional rule-based systems