Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


Others Zee Astitva Awards recognise exemplary women

Zee Astitva Awards recognise exemplary women

Author | exchange4media News Service | Tuesday, Apr 19,2005 7:39 AM

Zee Astitva Awards recognise exemplary women

Zee TV, India's leading general entertainment channel, has instituted Zee Astitva Awards to celebrate womanhood and felicitate contemporary Indian women for their contribution to the society.

In a glitzy ceremony in Mumbai, women who had made their mark in different walks of life were felicitated.

While Sushmita Sen won the Zee Woman of the Year Award, The Kellogg's woman of the year award was presented to Simone Tata. Swati Piramal, Mallika Srinivasan, Kalpana Morparia, Sania Mirza, Meera Borwankar, Ashwini Bhide, Usha Barwale, Bharati Shivaji, Kishori Amonkar and Tasneem Raja were given awards in diverse fields such as contributions to the society in Healthcare, Business, Banking & Finance, Sports, Civil Services, Performing Arts, Science & Technology. Special awards were also given to Renu Kundal (Dy, S. P. Jammu), Anuradha Lohia (Scientist) and Madhu Singhal (School For the Blind).

Corporate India, Bollywood Stars and Telly World came together for this unique award ceremony. Dignitaries like Subhash Chandra, Pradeep Guha, Subhash Ghai, Ajay Piramal, Rajashri Birla, Kumarmangalam Birla, Neeta Ambani, Sushmita Sen, Simone Tata, Arti & Kailash Surendranath, Anil Kapoor, Sunil Gawaskar, Ismail Darbar, Shobha De, Sani Mirza and Saurav Shukla among the others were present in support of the Astitva women.

A special telecast of these awards will take place exclusively on Zee TV on April 23, 2005 at 8:00 p.m.

Speaking on the occasion of the awards, Abhijit Saxena, Business Head, Zee TV, said, "Zee Astitva Awards is a unique property instituted to recognise exemplary woman in society. For any general entertainment channel women are its core audiences. An award ceremony like Zee Astitva Awards makes our bond with our main audience stronger. This is a small effort to celebrate and encourage the versatile role of women in Indian society."

Also present at the award ceremony were many small screen stars including Niki Aneja Walia, Tanvi Azmai, Divya Seth, Akashdeep Sehgal, Mansi & Rohit Roy, Tisca Chopra, Sangeeta Ghosh, Shweta Salve, Annu Kapoor, Simone Singh, Kushal Punjabi, Rajeshwari & Varun Badola.

The Astitva Award jury comprised Rajshree Birla, Simone Tata, Neeta Ambani, Simi Garewal, Divya Seth, Ashwini Yardi (Programming Head, Zee TV) and Anita Raj.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment