Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Who will be the impact Person of the Year 2010? Nominees announced

Font Size   16
Who will be the impact Person of the Year 2010? Nominees announced

The verdict is out on the worthy shortlists in contention for the impact Person of the Year 2010 award. Having invited industrypersons to nominate online person/ people/ group whom they feel has created maximum impact in the domains of media, marketing and advertising, tons of voters have cast their vote resulting in the conclusion of the first shortlist.

Spanning the entire media gamut, including print, television, advertising and media buying and selling, the ten names (in alphabetical order of their last names) include Sam Balsara of Madison World, Ravi Dhariwal of BCCL, Arnab Goswami of Times Now, Sanjay Gupta of Jagran, Aroon Purie of India/ TV Today, Vikram Sakhuja of GroupM, Ronnie Screwvala of UTV, Uday Shankar of Star India, Man Jit Singh of MSM/ Sony, and Rajiv Verma of HT Media.

The doyens have been chosen basis their contribution to the domain of expertise. Sam Balsara was instrumental in Madison getting BMB to India and so was Arnab Goswami who has been instrumental in engineering the growth of Times Now being one of the most dynamic news channel for some time now. Jagran taking over Mid-Day was a huge announcement and development for the Jagran group. As for GroupM, it has been high on procuring new businesses and winning awards and Vikram Sakhuja is to be held responsible for the progress.

Ronnie Screwvala is the CEO and founder chairman of the UTV Group that has been quite bullish on the programming front especially for the youth channel UTV Bindaas. UTV has also produced many successful movies and its no surprise that he is featured in the list.

Everything has been going right for Star Plus. The TRPs are skyrocketing and the top ten list of the programme features most Star Plus serials. Uday Shankar has kept the star shining at Star India. The same is the case with Man Jit Singh of Sony who has resurrected the channel to new heights post its slumber.

Having made the first cut, the process now moves to Stage 2, where the industry people would be invited again to handpick their ultimate choice. The coming weeks will see industry folk and friends lobbying intensely for a friend/ mate/ colleague who has made all the difference in the year gone by and has brought the industry repute.

The research process is led by market research firm IMRB. The Jagran group is the presenting sponsor of the IPOY 2010 with Business Standard as the print partner.

An annual event, the media, advertising and marketing industry’s most coveted title – impact Person of the Year (iPOY) – conceptualised by the exchange4media Group is into its 6th year now. The industry was invited to nominate one person or group of people who it feels has made the maximum impact in the domain of media, advertising and marketing.

It may be noted that the nomination for the Jagran group was in the name of Messrs MM Gupta, Sanjay Gupta and Shailesh Gupta, but on the request of the company, only CEO and Dainik Jagran Editor-in-Chief Sanjay Gupta’s name features in the list of nominees.

Some of the biggest names in the industry have been conferred the iPOY award. The first impact Person of the Year was Peter Mukerjea (then CEO of Star India). In 2006, it was Rajdeep Sardesai (IBN Network); the following year, it was Vijay Mallya. Lalit Modi was adjudged impact Person of the Year in 2008. In 2008 itself, based on reader feedback, there was also an impact Person of the Year (Editorial Choice) award, which was conferred on Raghav Bahl (of Network18). Rajesh Kamat (Colors) was declared impact Person of the Year 2009.

The winner would be announced at a grand ceremony in Mumbai on December 16, 2010.


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Videocon D2H and Hindustan Lever continue to dominate BARC's Top 10 Brands and Top 10 Advertisers for week 45

The series will be telecast on SONY TEN 1 channels with English commentary and on SONY TEN 3 channels with Hindi commentary

The new TVC, which is created by Dharma 2.0, is a step towards keeping cities and surroundings clean