Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

TRAI shortlists 13 top officials for Chairman’s post

Font Size   16
TRAI shortlists 13 top officials for Chairman’s post

Finance Secretary Arun Ramanathan, Telecom Secretary Siddhartha Behura, Consumer Affairs Secretary Yashwant Bhave, Maharashtra Chief Secretary Johny Joseph and former Power Secretary Anil Razdan are understood to be in the race for the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) Chairman.

Current Chairman Nipendra Misra retires on March 22 after a three-year stint. The Government in February 2009 had begun the process of appointing the new Chairman of TRAI by issuing an advertisement.

Senior TRAI officials have confirmed that a decision would be taken in the next five days.

The screening committee has shortlisted 13 of the 29 applications received for the post of TRAI Chairman, based on their experience and knowledge of the telecom sector.

The criteria for the Chairman’s post issued by the Government state is that the prospective candidate need not be from the Government. So far, TRAI Chairmen have been mostly retired IAS officers.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

V-Guard Industries, a household name for consumer electrical appliances in India, has revamped its logo in order to reflect the strength gained by the brand over the years. The company has also unveil...

The report reveals that there has been nearly 5 times more growth in video consumption in the last 12 months, with 96 percent of all usage being focused on long form video

Gopalan currently leads the Indonesia operations of P&G, and will be taking over from April 1st, 2018 as Al Rajwani is set to retire after 37 years with the company.