Others TR Ramachandran re-elected Press Club President

TR Ramachandran re-elected Press Club President

Author | Vinod Behl | Monday, Jan 23,2012 7:08 AM

TR Ramachandran re-elected Press Club President

TR Ramachandran of G Files has been elected as President of the Press Club of India for second year in a row. Anil Anand of Greater Kashmir, who occupied the post of Vice President in the outgoing team, has been elected as Secretary General. The elections for the year 2012-13 were held on January 21, 2012, for which the results were declared on the evening of January 22.

Ramachandran polled 757 votes, defeating his nearest rival, Nirnimesh Kumar of The Hindu, who got 227 votes. Anand defeated his nearest rival, Pankaj Singh, former Producer with The BBC. Anand polled 664 votes as against 245 votes secured by Singh. The outgoing Secretary General, Sandip Dikshit did not contest the elections this time.

Arun Kesari of Univarta is the new Vice President. Polling 666 votes, he defeated Savita Srivastava, who got 289 votes. Mohua Chatterjee of The Times of India was elected to the newly created post of Joint Secretary. Securing 577 votes, she defeated Rajeev Ranjan of NDTV, who polled 316 votes.

Nadeem Ahmed Kazmi of NDTV retained the post of treasurer. He defeated Pawan Kumar of Zee Business in a straight contest. Nadeem polled 737 votes as against 355 votes secured by Pawan Kumar.

The elected members of the Executive Committee include Aditi Tandon, Anant Bagaitkar, Avtar Negi, Dinesh Tiwari, GN Jha, Jitendra Kumar, Jomy Thomas, Kamal Nain Narang, Karuna Madan, Manan Kumar, Parul Chandra, Sanjay Singh, Sanjeev Upadhyaya, Santosh Kumar, Sovagya K Kar and Sudhi Ranjan Sen.

The major highlight of this year’s elections was that the outgoing team which fought the elections on the plank of cleaning up the financial mess of the club, made a clean sweep, bagging all the five posts of office bearers with huge margins. It also won 15 out of the 16 posts of the Executive Committee.

Write A Comment