Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


Others Sanjay Jha becomes first Indian to win Leob Award for excellence in journalism

Sanjay Jha becomes first Indian to win Leob Award for excellence in journalism

Author | exchange4media News Service | Wednesday, Jul 02,2008 8:11 AM

Sanjay Jha becomes first Indian to win Leob Award for excellence in journalism

Steve Washington, Darren Gersh, Dana Greenspon and Sanjay Jha of PBS Nightly Business Report have won the Loeb Award for the series ‘India’s Promise’ in the Television Daily category. Jha is the first Indian to win the Loeb Award.

The Gerald Loeb Award, also referred to as the Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism, is recognition of excellence in journalism, especially in the fields of business, finance and the economy. This year’s Awards were given away at a ceremony in New York on June 30.

Commenting on the win, Jha said, “I am very delighted and excited to win this Award. It has given credentials to the growth potential of India.”

‘India’s Promise’ was a four-part series that explored the rise of India’s economy, providing a first-hand look at the implications of the country’s rapid development. The stories were distinctive in the way that they visualised, humanised and personalised economic stories, showing the enormity and diversity of India’s population. This was an outstanding series from Nightly Business Report that demonstrated how enterprising broadcast journalism can lead to a better understanding of international economic issues.

Meanwhile, the New York Times received three Loeb Awards, while Fortune magazine’s Allan Sloan won his seventh Loeb Award for his story ‘House of Junk’, which dissected one deal to show how subprime mortgages went bad.

The Times won for its investigative series about how poisonous pharmaceutical ingredients from small Chinese factories have flowed into the global market. It also took awards for coverage of Merrill Lynch & Co CEO Stanley O’Neal’s ouster, and for columnist Joe Nocera’s commentary on socially responsible investing.

The Loeb Awards have been presented for 35 years by Anderson School of Management at the University of California at Los Angeles. They were established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, a financier and founding partner of E.F. Hutton.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment