Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Ramnath Goenka Journalism Awards given away

Font Size   16
Ramnath Goenka Journalism Awards given away

The Pioneer’s J Gopikrishnan and CNBC-TV18’s Udayan Mukherjee were adjudged Journalist of the Year at the 5th Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism, held in the Capital on January 16, 2012.

In all, 30 awards were given away for outstanding work done in print and broadcast media in various categories.

The Prakash Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism went to Tripti Lahiri of Tehelka. The Indian Express’ Raghav Ohri bagged the Priya Chandrasekhar Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing, while Daksh Panwar of The Indian Express won the Sanjiv Sinha Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Guest and Vice-President of India, Md Hamid Ansari, reminded the gathering that “Gandhiji was the first editor”. He also urged the media to “shape perceptions and the national agenda”.

Speaking further, he remarked, “Today, strong, independent-minded editors are an endangered species”, and added, “Vibrant journalism is based on professional ethics”. Talking about the role of journalism today, he said, “In a changed and changing world, vibrant journalism is watchdog journalism.”

Shekhar Gupta, The Indian Express Editor-in-Chief, welcomed the award winners and pointed out that the winning stories were a living proof of the fact that in newsrooms across the country, journalists were reaching out for excellence at a time “when it is getting difficult to sift news from noise”.


Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

Under the watchful eye of Walt Disney, Bindass undergoes brand repackaging with a fresh new show ‘Dil Buffering’ simulcast across its linear and social media platforms on September 29 and will launch...

Apart from the mandate for the first project which is the Ashiana Town in Bhiwadi, Tomorrow and InterTwined will deliver brand solutions across film, print, radio, outdoor and activation besides provi...

Despite advertising picking up after a slow Q1, regional FM players still feel that the lingering effect of GST, RERA, demonetisation will still make its impact felt during the upcoming festive quarte...