Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year

Font Size   16
Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year

The suspense is over. CNN-IBN announced its Indian of the Year at a glittering ceremony held at the Capital on February 6. And the person is none other than Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh.

Founder and Managing Director, TV18 Network and Chairman, Raghav Bahl, said, “We wanted an award with creditability. This Award will define the country. The winners were selected by the jury and through Internet polls. With India celebrating its 60th year of Independence, CNN-IBN decided to institute what is to be the highest, non-governmental, civilian award conferred on an individual. The annual CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Award is aimed at providing both a national and international platform for recognising achievements over the past year across different walks of life.”

Steel magnate Lakshmi N Mittal was awarded a special Jury Award. He was chosen for being an entrepreneur who showed the world how an Indian could build a multi-billion empire and in the process become an undisputed steel icon.

The Award salutes the best and the most dynamic Indian icons across six main categories: Politics, Business, Entertainment, Sports, and Global Indian. The Award also seeks to honour those unknown Indians through its sixth category of Public Service, to honour achievers who aren’t popular faces.

In the Sports category golfer Jeev Milkha Singh got the award. Ratan Tata got the award in the Business category. Pepsico’s Indira Nooyi got the award in the NRI category. The award in the Entertainment category went to Raj Kumar Hirani, who made ‘Lage Raho Munnabhai’. The Public Service category went to Arvind Kejriwal.

Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN/IBN7, said, “I would like to congratulate Dr Manmohan Singh. Our five distinguished jury members chose him unanimously after careful consideration of all six category winners and their accomplishments in 2006. This reflects well in our nation’s leadership as the Head of the government is now also the beneficiary of the highest civilian and non-governmental award, the superlative Indian icon, who had displayed the spirit of ‘Whatever it takes’.”


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Viacom 18 promises to announce new release date soon

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship