Others Prasar Bharti Board awaits new members

Prasar Bharti Board awaits new members

Author | Vinod Behl | Saturday, Apr 10,2004 8:07 AM

Prasar Bharti Board awaits new members

DPS Lamba, an MBA from the prestigious faculty of Management Studies, Delhi University, has been appointed as the first Member (Personnel), Prasar Bharti Board ever since its inception six years back.

However, Lamba joined Prasar Bharti on April 1, as Member, Finance, after Sundresam retired on attaining the age of 62, the retirement age prescribed in Prasar Bharti Act for Full Time Members. The national media supervisory body is yet to find his replacement. Prasar Bharti Chairman MV Kamath who retired last November, however, got extension for six years.

Three posts of Part Time Members of Prasar Bharti Board, out of the scheduled six positions have also been lying vacant. Three Part Time Members – ML Mehta, Chitra Mudgir and Bhupen Hazarika are currently serving the organisation. Two Part Time Members – BG Varghese and Lt Gen Zakir retreated from assignments last year after expiry of their terms. Another Part Time Member, Vidya Niwas Misra quit Prasar Bharti last year on being elected to the Rajya Sabha. All these three posts of Part Time Members have been lying vacant.

Similarly, two more posts of employees (representatives from Doordarshan and AIR) have been lying vacant since the inception of Prasar Bharti on account of the fact that employees of Doordarshan and AIR have not been finally transferred to the corporation.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment