Others PDA sweeps The Press Club, Mumbai elections for 2008-10

PDA sweeps The Press Club, Mumbai elections for 2008-10

Author | Swapna Rahul Shah | Wednesday, Jul 30,2008 8:52 AM

PDA sweeps The Press Club, Mumbai elections for 2008-10

PDA (Progressive Democratic Alliance) swept The Press Club, Mumbai elections for 2008-10 by wining all the Office Bearer seats and eight out of 10 Managing Committee seats. The elections had taken place on July 26.

Pradeep Vijakar of The Times of India has been elected as President. He secured 297 votes against 110 votes secured by Chandra Prakash Jha.

Devendra Mohan of Business India was elected Chairman, defeating G Vishwanath of The Hindu by over 47 votes, while Santosh Bane of The Times of India defeated Prasad Mokhasi of Loksatta by over 105 votes for the Vice Chairman’s post. Santosh is the first photo journalist to be elected Vice Chairman of the Press Club, Mumbai.

Mohan informed exchange4media about a 12-point Manifesto for 2008-10 that would include a high tech conference hall, roof for the first floor, a grand photo contest, MHADA housing scheme, institute for journalism, journalism awards, social and cultural activities, knowledge platform, sports festivals, food and technology, entertainments and festivals, and care for the members.

The Times of India’s Swati Deshpande became the first lady Secretary in 30 years. She defeated Vinod Khatri of Navbharat Times by over 57 votes. Gordon D’Costa of Hindustan Times was elected Joint Secretary. He defeated Kalpana Rane of Maharastra Times by 60 votes. Rajesh Mascarenhas of The Economic Times defeated Chandrashekar Sant by 95 votes for the post of Treasurer.

Speaking on the new team, former Secretary Gurbir Singh said, “A brand new Club House is the biggest achievement of PDA team, which acts as independent platform for the journalists as a profession and we wish to further strengthen this platform.” Singh had played a key role in conceiving the new Club House, supervising its construction and raising funds for the project.

Others elected to the Managing Committee include Gurbir Singh of Business India (who secured the highest votes), Santosh Andhale and Ashish Raje of Mumbai Mirror, Pradeep Shine of Mathruboomi, Ajit Joshi of Gujrathi Mitra, Sunil Shivdasani of Hindustan Times, Edwin Fernandes of The Times of India, Prakash Akolkar and Kalpana Rane of Maharashtra Times and Om Prakash Tiwari of Dainik Jagaran.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment