Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Padma Bhushan for Shekhar Gupta; Padma Shri for Abhay Chhajlani, Alok Mehta

Font Size   16
Padma Bhushan for Shekhar Gupta; Padma Shri for Abhay Chhajlani, Alok Mehta

The Padma Awards for 2009 were announced in the Capital on Republic Day eve. Shekhar Gupta, Editor-in-Chief, The Indian Express, has been conferred the Padma Bhushan. Naidunia Indore’s Abhay Chhajlani, Naidunia Delhi Editor Alok Mehta, and veteran broadcaster and one of the most recognised voices on Indian radio, Ameen Sayani, have been conferred the Padma Shri.

Shekhar Gupta has been honoured for his contribution to the field of journalism. He has been anchoring the popular show ‘Walk the Talk’ on NDTV 24x7. As a reporter with The Indian Express, he had broken the news of the Nellie massacre in Assam. On being congratulated for the honour bestowed upon him, Gupta said, “It’s really for the paper, though I am a direct beneficiary.”

Abhay Chhajlani has been conferred the Padma Shri in the journalism discipline. He was elected President of the Indian Newspaper Society for 2002-03.

Alok Mehta is a veteran journalist and was the Editor of Outlook Hindi prior to joining Naidunia. He has also been a former President of the Editors Guild of India. Mehta is being conferred the Padma Shri in the literature and education discipline.

Ameen Sayani had hosted the popular Bollywood music countdown show ‘Binaca Geetmala’ (later known as ‘Cibaca Geetmala’) for several years and has been a popular radio host. He has been conferred the Padma Shri in the commentary and broadcasting discipline.

In all, 133 Padma Awards have been announced, of which 10 are Padma Vibhushan, 30 are Padma Bhushan, and 93 are Padma Shri.

Quite a few sportspersons find mention in this year’s Padma Awards – Abhinav Bindra (Padma Bhushan); MS Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Pankaj Advani and Balbir Singh Khullar (Padma Shri).

It may be recalled that three well-known media personalities were conferred the Padma Shri in 2008 – Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Dua and Barkha Dutt.

Also read:

Padma Awards ‘08: Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Dua, Barkha Dutt honoured


Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

Under the watchful eye of Walt Disney, Bindass undergoes brand repackaging with a fresh new show ‘Dil Buffering’ simulcast across its linear and social media platforms on September 29 and will launch...

Apart from the mandate for the first project which is the Ashiana Town in Bhiwadi, Tomorrow and InterTwined will deliver brand solutions across film, print, radio, outdoor and activation besides provi...

Despite advertising picking up after a slow Q1, regional FM players still feel that the lingering effect of GST, RERA, demonetisation will still make its impact felt during the upcoming festive quarte...