Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Padma Awards ‘08: Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Dua, Barkha Dutt honoured

Font Size   16
Padma Awards ‘08: Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod Dua, Barkha Dutt honoured

The much awaited Padma Awards for 2008 have been announced. Three well-known media personalities figure in this year’s Padma Shri awardees’ list – Rajdeep Sardesai (GBN), Vinod Dua and Barkha Dutt (both NDTV).

Dua is best known for his election analysis with NDTV’s Dr Prannoy Roy. He became a familiar face on television in the early 80s on Doordarshan's Sunday morning programme called ‘Aap Ke Liye’. He regularly hosts two TV shows in Hindi news channel NDTV India - Khabardar and Zaika.

Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief of Global Broadcast News, moved to television journalism in 1994 as Political Editor, NDTV.

Barkha Dutt's frontline reporting of the Kargil conflict in 1999 made her a household name. She is currently Managing Editor of NDTV 24x7.

Another well-known personality named for Padma Shri is FICCI Secretary-General Dr Amit Mitra. He has been chosen for the Award in the Trade and Industry discipline.

The Padma Shri is given by the Government of India to Indian citizens to recognise their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity, including the arts, education, industry, literature, science, sports, social service and public life. It stands fourth in the hierarchy of civilian awards after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan.

Sachin Tendulkar and Viswanathan Anand have been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan for sports discipline. Other eminent names in the Padma Vibhushan list include Dr Rajendra Kumar Pachauri for Science and Engineering; Ratan Tata, Narayana Murthy, Lakshmi Narayan Mittal and P.R.S Oberoi for Trade and Industry.

Among the Padma Bhushan awardees are Jasdev Singh for Commentary and Broadcasting; Suresh Kumar Neotia for Trade and Industry and Social Work; Baba Neelkanth Kalyani, K V Kamath, Shiv Nadar and Vikram Pandit for trade and Industry.


Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

In week 9 of BARC ratings, the channel led the lifestyle space with 1206 million impressions followed by TLC, FYI TV18, Food Food and Fox Life

During his brief visit to India, Ronen Mense, Vice- President- Asia, AppsFlyer, spoke to exchange4media about app marketing and the new trends one can witness in mobile marketing.

Neha Kulwal, CEO, Admitad, talks about the future of affiliate marketing and the company's growth over the years

The campaign has urged all women to go for an early detection of breast cancer.

The sticky banner appears to show up in YouTube pre-roll ads of other brands, like a standard in-video banner. And the adhesive power of the banner is so strong, that even the characters in the ads ca...

Conceptualized and executed by GREY Group, the latest campaign for ENO demonstrates how the sudden onset of acidity can not only disrupt an otherwise fun moment, but has the potential to derail the ce...