Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Now, BCCI to launch its version of Twenty20 cricket

Font Size   16
Now, BCCI to launch its version of Twenty20 cricket

More cricket action can be expected next year with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announcing the launch of Indian Premier League (IPL), which would be played in the globally popular Twenty20 format. IPL would make its debut in April 2008.

Lalit Modi, Vice-President, BCCI, hinted that around 30 individuals and corporates had shown interest in sponsoring the event. He, however, refused to divulge their names. “It’s too premature to announce sponsors. We would also go for tenders of franchisee in November 2007,” he added.

Modi also clarified that the formation of the league was not a knee jerk reaction to any rival group, but was already in the pipeline. According to him, the aim of the League was to revitalise domestic cricket. Eight domestic teams from four nations will participate in the first Twenty20 League – India, Australia, England, and South Africa.

The IPL is also the first ever attempt at the franchisee model by the BCCI. Modelled closely on the lines of the successful leagues in the US like National Basketball Association (NBA) and Major League Soccer, the governing body of IPL will consist of seven members, including Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, M.A.K Pataudi and Rajeev Shukla. The final leg will be called ‘Champions Twenty20 League’.

The IPL will have a total of 59 matches. The winner will get Rs 8 crore, while the total prize money is Rs 20 crore.


Baba Ramdev brought his sharp wits for an interview with e4m where he promised to disrupt more markets and spoke about he the way he created a brand through consistent and selfless work

GroupM is in talks with several digital clients currently with its other agencies to shift them to Essence, which is looking at a major expansion plan in 2018

Thomas, Chief Marketing Officer, Diageo India, gives us a peek into the marketing strategy for McDowell’s No 1 Soda, its creation of ‘No 1 Yaari Jam,’ their own set of 4Ps and importance of content

NewsCode, a hyper local online news platform was launched last night with a network of over 350 local reporters in Karnataka and Jharkhand. Apurv Swarup, the co-founder talked to Exchange4Media about his vision

Voot, which is producing almost 4X content on an overall basis on the reality drama, is gunning for big numbers both on viewership and advertising revenue

YouTube today released its annual year-end edition of the YouTube Ads Leaderboard 2017 capturing the most celebrated ads that received maximum views, shares, and love from audiences across India

Real world study of Appier's network shows significant benefits of AI over traditional rule-based systems