Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Nominations for 7th annual Teacher’s Achievement Awards announced

Font Size   16
Nominations for 7th annual Teacher’s Achievement Awards announced

The nominations for the seventh annual Teacher’s Achievement Awards have been announced. Five eminent personalities have been nominated in each category. In the Sports category, the nominees include golfer Jeev Milkha Singh, shooters Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Jaspal Rana and Abhinav Bindra, and hockey player Viren Rasquinha. In the Entertainment category, actors Konkona Sen Sharma and Irrfan Khan, singer Shaan, filmmakers Rajkumar Hirani and Vishal Bhardwaj have been nominated. The winners will be announced on November 17 in Mumbai.

The panel of judges for the business category includes Harsh Mariwala, CMD, Marico Industries Ltd; Ravi Bhoothalingam, Founder and CEO, Manas Advisory; and Subir Raha, Executive Vice Chairman, Hinduja Group India in the Business Category. The judges for the communication category include Barry John, Sabira Merchant and Victor Banerjee. The panel of judges for the entertainment category includes Ramesh Sippy, Shyam Benegal and Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, while Ayaz Memon, Micheal Ferreira and Zafar Iqbal are on the jury for sports category.

Harish Moolchandani, CEO and Managing Director-India and Indian subcontinent, Beam Global Spirits & Wine, India Business, said, “It is a matter of privilege for us to recognise and honour talent and achievement in the country. The Teacher’s Achievement Awards has consistently rewarded achievers over the years and motivated others towards excellence. We are thankful to all our partners including our jury members and nominees who have supported us in this endeavour.”

The entire process of nomination and selection of nominees and jury is validated by global audit firm KPMG. The deciding factors include a proven track record, originality and innovation, peer recognition and significant milestones achieved in the chosen area of expertise, among others.

Since its inception, Teacher's Achievement Awards has recognised achievers in diverse categories such as photography, science, theatre and the creative and performing arts. The winners of Teacher's Achievement Awards held last year in Delhi were Harsh Mariwala, Chairman and MD, Marico Industries Ltd in Business category; filmmaker Karan Johar for Entertainment; shooter Samaresh Jung for Sports; McCann Erickson’s Prasoon Joshi for Communication, and ghazal maestro Jagjit Singh for Lifetime Achievement Award.


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Global multi-platform marketing campaign champions Schneider Electric’s role as a leader in digital transformation

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship