Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Nominations called for Chameli Jain Award 2011-12

Font Size   16
Nominations called for Chameli Jain Award 2011-12

The Media Foundation has invited nominations for its annual Chameli Devi Jain Awards for an Outstanding Woman Mediaperson for the year 2011-12.

Journalists in print, broadcast and current affairs, documentary films are eligible; and it also extends to photographers, cartoonists and newspaper designers.

The criteria for selection will be excellence, analytical skills, social concern, insights, style, innovation, courage and compassion. In a release issued, it was stated that preference would be given to small town/ rural and Indian language journalists.

Nominations should be addressed to: BG Verghese, C - 11 Dewan Shree Apartments, 30 Ferozeshah Road, New Delhi - 110001. Last date for receiving nominations is February 15, 2012.

The award will be announced before the actual presentation ceremony, which will be held at the India International Centre Multipurpose Hall, Delhi on March 16, 2012.

The Chameli Devi Jain Award was established in the year 1979 to encourage the freedom and high standards in the media. The initial funding came from the balance of the election funds raised in 1977 by and on behalf of BG Verghese, former Editor of Hindustan Times, to contest from the Mavellikara seat to the Lok Sabha from Kerala on behalf of the combined Opposition against the Congress after the Emergency. He had stood on the platform of freedom of expression of the press.

A year later, the late Lakshmi Chand Jain helped the Media Foundation institute an annual award for “an outstanding women journalist” in the name of his mother, Chameli Jain, a Delhi housewife who joined her husband in the freedom struggle, exemplifying courage and commitment to the Independence movement.

Some of India’s best known and respected journalists have won this award, which includes a citation and books worth Rs 8,000-10,000. Though modest as prizes go, The Award has gained high prestige for its independent process of selection and the calibre of its jurors and awardees every year.

A book of essays on their life and work has been written by almost 40 awardees and will be published by Tranquebar-Westland Press (a Tata imprint) in March 2012 on behalf of Media Foundation. Women journalists have set new media standards, redefined ‘news’ and have brought a degree of sensitivity, caring and integrity to the profession as will be evident from a reading of the forthcoming Chameli Story.

The winner of the Chameli Devi Jain Award last year was Shahina KK of Tehelka, Trivandrum.



Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Baba Ramdev brought his sharp wits for an interview with e4m where he promised to disrupt more markets and spoke about he the way he created a brand through consistent and selfless work

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Thomas, Chief Marketing Officer, Diageo India, gives us a peek into the marketing strategy for McDowell’s No 1 Soda, its creation of ‘No 1 Yaari Jam,’ their own set of 4Ps and importance of content

Prior to joining Madison PR in 2012 Chaudhary was Group President Corporate Communications at Reliance Industries Limited.