Others NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards: Mukesh Ambani, Sunil Bharti Mittal among top winners

NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards: Mukesh Ambani, Sunil Bharti Mittal among top winners

Author | exchange4media News Service | Tuesday, Oct 07,2008 8:44 AM

NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards: Mukesh Ambani, Sunil Bharti Mittal among top winners

The NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards 2008 were given away at a glittering ceremony in the Capital on October 6. Among the prominent winners this year were Mukesh Ambani, Sunil Bharti Mittal, Laloo Prasad Yadav and KV Kamath, who was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Finance Minister P Chidambaram graced the occasion that also saw several top-notch industrialists and bureaucrats of the country in attendance.

While accepting the Business Leader of the Year Award, Mukesh Ambani, Chairman & Managing Director, Reliance Industries Ltd, said, “I am a strong believer that oil prices will come down, especially if India continues to scale its offshore oil discovery process.” He urged the Finance Ministry to bring the KG Gas to the ‘aam aadmi’ or retail users and added that more than a change it was the policy that needed to be pushed by the Finance Ministry.

KV Kamath, MD and CEO, ICICI Bank, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, said, “While there are opportunities presenting themselves for takeover in the overseas market, I see no necessity to look at those assets. I feel there are enough opportunities in India for a bank like ICICI.” He was confident of the Indian economy doubling every six to seven years and added that the current financial instability scenario should resolve in six months to a year’s time and that the Indian economy would be back on track for a 10 per cent growth.

Speaking at the occasion, Dr Prannoy Roy, Chairman, NDTV, said, “Pessimists underestimate India. India moves when there’s a crisis. It is a time for agility and we must note that booms are borne out of despair.”

Detailed list of winners of the NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards 2008:

SL. No
1 Private Banks Axis Bank Ltd.
2 Public Banks Bank of India
3 Pharmaceuticals Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.
4 Aviation Kingfisher Airlines Ltd.
5 Automobiles
Hero Honda Motors Ltd.
6 Automobiles
Tata Motors Ltd.
7 Mutual Funds ICICI Prudential AMC Ltd.
8 Life Insurance LIC Of India
9 Non-Life Insurance Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co Ltd
10 Retail Vishal Retail Ltd.
11 Telecom Bharti Airtel Ltd.
12 IT (Software) Infosys Technologies Ltd.
13 IT (Hardware) HP India Sales Pvt. Ltd.
14 Oil & Gas (Private) Reliance Industries Ltd.
15 Oil & Gas (Public) Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd.
16 Tour & Travel Rajasthan Tourism Development Corp
17 Consumer Durables Whirlpool of India Ltd
18 FMCG (Food) Nestle India Ltd.
(Personal Hygiene)
Dabur India Ltd.
20 Infrastructure Punj Llyod Ltd.
21 Logistics Blue Dart Express Ltd.
22 Lifetime
Achievement Award
KV Kamath
23 Business Leader
Of The Year
Mukesh Ambani
24 Inspiring Leader
Of The Year
Laloo Prasad Yadav
25 Business Leader
Transforming India
Sunil Bharti Mittal
26 Innovative Business
Leader of the Year
Lalit Modi
Tags: e4m

Write A Comment