Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards 09: Brijmohan Lall receives lifetime achievement

Font Size   16
NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards 09: Brijmohan Lall receives lifetime achievement

The NDTV Profit Business Leadership Awards 2009 were given away at a packed event in Mumbai on October 26. Among the prominent winners this year are Nandan Nilekani, Chairman of UIDAI; Chanda D Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI Bank Ltd; and TN Ninan, Managing Director, Business Standard. Brijmohan Lall Munjal, Chairman, Hero Group, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee was the chief guest at the event, which was attended by several top-notch industrialists. Among the advertising and media world, the annual event saw the likes of Sam Balsara, Chairman and MD, Madison World; Ravi Kiran, CEO - South Asia, Starcom MediaVest Group; AP Parigi, Group CEO (India), Eros International; Ajay Kakar, Chief Marketing Officer, Financial Services, Aditya Birala Group; Sanjay Tripathy, Executive Vice President and Head of Marketing, HDFC Standard Life; Sandip Tarkas, President - Customer Strategy, Future Group; Praveen Tripathi, CEO, Hansa Consulting; Suman Srivastava, CEO, Euro RSCG India; and Mahesh Chauhan, Group CEO, Rediffusion Y&R to name a few. Raj Nayak, CEO, NDTV Media, and Prannoy Roy, Chairman, NDTV, were also present on the occasion.

Awards were given away in 22 categories, besides four special awards, a Life Time Achievement Award and the Business Achievement of the Year Award.

The winners:
The jury award for Business Leader - Infrastructure was given to Larsen & Toubro.

In the Aviation category, the award was given to InterGlobe Aviation.

Business Leader award for private sector bank was given to Axis Bank.

Bharti Airtel Ltd was given the Business Leader Award in the Telecom category.

In the Automobile category, Tata Motors bagged the award for four-wheelers, while Hero Honda won among two-wheelers

FMCG Food – Nestle

FMCG Personal Hygiene – Marico

Retail – Pantaloon Retail India Ltd

Consumer Durables – Samsung India

IT Software – Wipro Ltd

IT Hardware – Wipro Infotech

Logistics – Allcargo Global Logistics Ltd

Oil and Gas (Public Sector) – HBCL

Oil and Gas (Private Sector) – Reliance Industry Ltd

Mutual Funds – HDFC Asset Management Company

Life Insurance – Life Insurance Corporation of India

Non-Life Insurance – New India Assurance Company Ltd

Special Award for Inspiring Leader during crisis was given to OP Bhatt, Chairman, State Bank of India. TN Ninan was awarded the Special Award for Business Thought Leader. Nilekani and Kochhar were also among those who won the Special Awards. The first NDTV Profit Business Leader - CSR Award was awarded to Infosys, while the Business Achievement of the Year Award was given to Satyam.

NDTV Profit, Business Leadership Awards 2009 was presented by Hirco.


Rajat Sharma who was recently elected as President of the NBA talks about his plans for the industry body

The Country Sales Manager Media at Akamai says that technology seems to be taking over all possible spaces and people considering it in both positive and negative ways

The India Marketing Lead of Skyscanner believes that with the acquisition by Ctrip they have reached the market leader status

Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

The BBC carried out a survey along with Globescan to see how the world looks at the issue of ‘fake news’

The objective of content marketing is not just to encourage product purchase or generate ROI. The key to its success lies in building relationships based on trust, opines Dasgupta

The interesting animated rap music video encapsulates Droom’s ecosystem tools and their role in facilitating second-hand automobile transactions