Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

IPL’s Lalit Modi is ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’; Raghav Bahl is Editorial Choice

Font Size   16
IPL’s Lalit Modi is ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’; Raghav Bahl is Editorial Choice

At a glittering ceremony in Mumbai on February 20, that saw presence of Who’s Who of the Indian media and advertising fraternity, Indian Premier League guru Lalit Modi was conferred the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’ Award. Adding more to the regular format of this annual event, the exchange4media Group also conferred an Editorial Choice Award to Network18’s Raghav Bahl for the immense contribution he had made to the media and advertising industry last year.

The polling from The Nielsen Company, which is impact’s research agency for the event, put Lalit Modi as the clear winner. As is known, the ‘impact Person of the Year’ is chosen by the Indian media and advertising fraternity on the basis of a voting system. It was the Indian Premier League and its immense success in the last year that worked in Modi’s favour.

Many from the audience said that the format was ‘innovative’ and ‘stayed strong even in as critical a market situation as now’, and that Modi deserved this honour.

Whether it is Colors, or any other bet that the Network18 Group undertook in the last year, things have always worked out for the Group, and the credit for steering the team that has delivered these successes is none other than Raghav Bahl. This is the first year that the exchange4media Group instituted an Editorial Choice Award at this platform, and for all his achievements that took the Indian media industry a step forward, Bahl was the chosen one for this Award.

The nominees this year included Sudhir Agarwal, Girish Agarwal and Pawan Agarwal of the Bhaskar Group; Anil Ambani of ADAG; Raghav Bahl of Network18; Sam Balsara of Madison World; Shobhana Bhartia of HT Media; Subhash Chandra of Essel Group; Haresh Chawla & Rajesh Kamat of Network 18/Colors; Agnello Dias of JWT India; Arnab Goswami of Times Now; Shailesh Gupta and Sanjay Gupta of Jagran Prakashan; Samir Jain and Vineet Jain of TOI Group; Kalanidhi Maran of Sun Network; Sunil B Mittal of Bharti Airtel; Lalit Modi of IPL; Indrani Mukerjea and Peter Mukerjea of INX Media; Sameer Nair of NDTV Imagine; AP Parigi of ENIL; Aroon Purie of India Today Group; T Venkattram Reddy of Deccan Chronicle; Prannoy Roy of NDTV; Rajdeep Sardesai of CNN IBN; Rajesh Sawhney and Amit Khanna of Reliance Entertainment; Ronnie Screwvala of UTV Network; Uday Shankar of Star India; and Rajat Sharma of India TV.

The first person to be awarded the ‘impact Person of the Year’ in 2005 was Peter Mukerjea. The year 2006 saw Rajdeep Sardesai being adjudged ‘impact Person of the Year’, while king of good times, Vijay Mallya, was ‘impact Person of the Year 2007’.

Much was said at the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’. Watch this space for more.


Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Conceptualised and executed by WATConsult, the campaign focuses on how Lotus Make-up is an enabler for women from various walks of life

iProspect released the third annual 2018 Future Focus Whitepaper geared to examine how machines and technology will impact marketing and advertising in the year ahead

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO