Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

INS Elections ’11 Ashish Bagga is Prez; Tilak Kumar is Dy Prez & Ravindra Kumar is VP

Font Size   16
INS Elections ’11 Ashish Bagga is Prez; Tilak Kumar is Dy Prez & Ravindra Kumar is VP

India Today Group’s Ashish Bagga has been elected as the President of the Indian Newspaper Society (INS) at its 72nd Annual General Meeting (AGM), held in Bangalore on September 30, 2011. He takes over the reins from outgoing President Kundan R Vyas of Vyapar-Janmabhoomi Group. KN Tilak Kumar (Prajavani) is the Deputy President, while Ravindra Kumar (The Statesman) has been elected as the Vice President.

Rakesh Sharma (Aaj Samaj) is the Honorary Treasurer of the Society for the year 2011-12. V Shankaran continues as the Secretary General of INS.

exchange4media caught up with Bagga soon after he took charge as the INS President. Speaking on the key points on his agenda, he said, “There are several ongoing challenges which we need to address. One is the Wage Board issue which is threatening our industry. I will continue the good work put in by the past President Kundan Vyas and will do everything in my capability to ensure that the publishers’ voice is heard and make sure that we don’t have any Draconian laws in our industry. Also, there has been a lot of discussion on the PRB Act and that is something on which we would engage with the Government and ensure how we could jointly take that forward. Thirdly, we have to be united during this economic slowdown in terms of advertising rates, cover prices, etc. The initiative would be to unite all publishers to see how we can collectively handle the economic situation that we are all going through. Last but not the least, is the merger of the two surveys – NRS and IRS – which actually happened at the behest of the INS and I was on the task force. But this is only the beginning. Now we have to ensure that going forward, we make the survey more credible. As President of the INS, I would like all our publisher members to contribute to the new survey and the modification stages as well as the improvements, along with other office bearers from the agencies and from the clients’ side, too, to make it a gold standard. This year, the first meeting will take place on October 14. So, that will be another very important area where I would be spending a lot of time on.”

The other members of the Executive Committee of the INS are: -
1 Dr BS Adityan (Vaarantari Rani)
2. L Adimoolam (Health & The Antiseptic)
3. Girish Agarwal (Dainik Bhaskar, Bhopal)
4. Samahit Bal (Pragativadi)
5. K Balaji (The Hindu Weekly)
6. PV Chandran (Grihalakshmi)
7. VK Chopra (Dainik Asam)
8. Devendra Darda (Lokmat Times)
9. Jagjit Singh Dardi (Charhdikala Daily)
10. Ravindra Dhariwal (Navbharat Times)
11. Mahendra Mohan Gupta (Dainik Jagran)
12. Pradeep Gupta (Dataquest)
13. Sanjay Gupta (Dainik Jagran, Varanasi)
14. Shailesh Gupta (Mid-Day)
15. Shekhar Gupta (Loksatta, Mumbai)
16. Sanjay Hazari (The Tribune)
17. Mohit Jain (Economic Times)
18. Dr R Lakshmipathy (Dinamalar)
19. Rajul Maheshwari (Amar Ujala)
20. Jayant Mammen Mathew (Malayala Manorama)
21. Vilas A. Marathe (Dainik Hindusthan, Amravati)
22. Naresh Mohan (Sunday Statesman)
23. Abhijit Pratap Pawar (Gomantak, Goa)
24. Maheshwer Peri (Outlook)
25. RMR Ramesh (Dinakaran)
26. K Raja Prasad Reddy (Sakshi, Vishakhapatnam)
27. Somesh Sharma (Rashtradoot Saptahik)
28. Manoj Kumar Sonthalia (The New Indian Express)
29. Akila Urankar (Business Standard)
30. Kiran B Vadodaria (Sambhaav Metro)
31. M Venkatesh (Hindustan Times)
32. Vijay Darda (Lokmat)
33. Vijay Kumar Chopra (Punjabi Kesari, Jalandhar)
34. Pratap G Pawar (Sakal)
35. Abhay Chhajlani (Nai Dunia)
36. MP Veerendrakumar (Mathrubhumi)
37. Jacob Mathew (Vanitha)
38. Bahubali S Shah (Gujarat Samachar)
39. Hormusji N Cama (Bombay Samachar Weekly)
40. T Venkttaram Reddy (Deccan Chronicle)
41. Kundan R Vyas (Vyapar, Mumbai)

Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Conceptualised and executed by WATConsult, the campaign focuses on how Lotus Make-up is an enabler for women from various walks of life

iProspect released the third annual 2018 Future Focus Whitepaper geared to examine how machines and technology will impact marketing and advertising in the year ahead

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO