Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Indian journalists win Women’s Empowerment (WE) Journalism Awards

Font Size   16
Indian journalists win Women’s Empowerment (WE) Journalism Awards

Diageo has recognised and honoured five winning journalists from across the Asia-Pacific for their outstanding reporting of women’s issues at the inaugural 2014 Women’s Empowerment (WE) Journalism Awards ceremony in Singapore. The winners from India were Sumnima Udas of CNN and Nilanjana Bhowmick of Time Magazine.

“The incredible response we received to our call for nominations for the WE Journalism Awards was very inspiring,” said Abanti Sankaranarayanan, Managing Director, Diageo India. “We received more than 300 entries from 11 different countries across print, online and broadcast media, proving that women’s issues are all of our issues.”

“I am exceedingly proud that we had two winning entries from India, Nilanjana Bhowmick and Sumnima Udas, who are not only excellent journalists but role models and advocates for women across India and the region,” Sankaranarayanan added.

CNN’s Sumnima Udas was named Journalist of the Year for her reporting on gender issues in India, including the December 2012 New Delhi rape and murder of a young medical student. The incident, which shocked the entire nation and garnered attention from around the world, led to change in how Indian society handles sexual crimes and violence against women.

Nearly a full year of reporting led to the documentary film ‘Nirbhaya: The Fearless One’, which featured Udas’ in-depth interview with the victim’s parents.

Also recognised was Nilanjana Bhowmick of Time Magazine, who won the award for Online Story of the Year. Her winning article, ‘India’s Golden Girls: How Sports and the Olympics Can Uplift Women’, highlighted sports as a tool for empowerment of girls in India. The global success of India’s women athletes has gradually shifted traditional social perceptions towards women and sports. More and more parents support their daughters to play sports and to become professional athletes.

The WE Journalism Awards are part of Diageo’s ‘Plan W: Empowering Women through Learning’ community investment programme, which was launched in 2012. Through Plan W initiatives, Diageo aims to deliver training and skills development to empower two million women in 17 countries in Asia-Pacific by 2017.

The award recipients for the WE Journalism Awards 2014 are:

Journalist of the Year: Sumnima Udas, CNN

Online Story of the Year: Nilanjana Bhowmick, Time Magazine
Entry: India’s Golden Girls: How Sports and the Olympics Can Uplift Women

Print Story of the Year: Denise Tsang, South China Morning Post
Entry: Engineering Change

Photograph of the Year: Aly Song, Reuters
Entry: The Women of China’s Workforce

Broadcast Story of the Year: Subina Shrestha, Al Jazeera
Entry: Nepal’s Slave Girls

Tags Diageo

Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Understanding the round-the-clock nature of change, KG Suresh, Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication, in a conversation with exchange4media, talked about his plans to introduce a fu...

The mall has a diverse range of media formats that includes, billboards, backlit kiosk, pillar wraps, product/promotion display spaces etc.

The beauty of the internet business is that as your cost curve flattens, your revenue curve keeps growing up and that's why the valuations are so high, said Ashish Hemrajani, Founder-CEO, BookMyShow