Others Indian Franchise Expo 2007 to bring together stalwarts of the franchising industry

Indian Franchise Expo 2007 to bring together stalwarts of the franchising industry

Author | exchange4media News Service | Friday, Mar 09,2007 8:21 AM

Indian Franchise Expo 2007 to bring together stalwarts of the franchising industry

The Indian Franchise Expo 2007, be held at the Capital from March 10-12, has attracted an impressive list of participants from the franchise industry. Jointly organised by the Franchising Association of India and Franchise Plus magazine, the Expo will comprise a Summit, Exhibition and awards. Jaaydaad.com is the principal sponsor of the event.

The two-day Indian Franchising Summit commences on March 10 and aims at establishing a platform for the sharing and exchange of knowledge of best practices that will pave the way towards a blueprint for success through franchising.

The first session on the opening day of the Summit will focus on ‘Emerging Opportunities in Franchising — Domestic and International Brands’. Moderated by C Y Pal, National President, Franchising Association of India, the speakers in the panel include Manpreet Gulri, Subway; Pramod Khera, CEO, Aptech Ltd; Pinaki Mishra, Partner, E&Y; Marcel Portman, VP, International Development, International Franchise Association; and Sunil Dewan, Franchise Consultant, USA.

Post-lunch, the topic of discussion will be ‘Learning from International Franchising Experiences’. Moderated by Media Vault’s Rohinton Maloo, the speakers in the panel include Alan Branch, VP and Franchise Partner, Donaldson Walsh, and VP, Franchise Council of Australia; David Koch, Senior Partner, Wiley, Reid & Fielding, USA; Sunil Dewan, Franchise Consultant, USA; and Pattabhi Ramarao, President, Australian Foods India Pvt Ltd, among others.

‘Franchising Beyond Metros’ will be the concluding discussion of Day One, and will be moderated by Ratan Jalan, CEO, Apollo Health & Lifestyle Ltd, which will feature speakers like Naresh Ajwani, EVP, Sify Broadband; Ashutosh Garg, CMD, Guardian Pharmacy; Rohit Swarup, Director, Xplora Design Skool; Rahul Munjal, MD, EasyBill; and Partha Duttagupta, CEP, Barista.

Day Two of the Summit will kick off with a discussion on ‘Malls – Growth Drivers for Franchising in India’. Anuj Puri, MD, Trammell Crow Meghraj will be the moderator and the speakers include Pranay Sinha, CEO, Select Citywalk; S K Jain, CMD, Jaaydaad.com; Sunil Gupta, CEO, Omaxe; Rajeev Karwal, Former President and CEO, Reliance Retail: Consumer Durable Division; and Vinod Behl, Editor, Franchise Plus and Realty Plus.

The next discussion will be on ‘Regulatory and Legal Framework’, which will cover topics like ‘Is arbitration the best choice for dispute resolution?’, ‘Do we need a franchising law in India?’, and ‘Franchise agreements — franchisor and franchisee points-of-view’. Safir Anand of Anand & Anand Associates will moderate thses discussions.

The post-lunch session will see a discussion on ‘Financing a Franchise’. The Summit will conclude with a ‘CEO Conclave’, wherein ‘Building a win-win franchisor-franchisee partnership model’ will be under the scanner. Speakers for this session will include Pramod Khera, MD, Aptech Ltd; Yogesh Sethi, CEO, VLCC; Ratan Jalan, CEO, Apollo Health & Lifestyle; Uday Zakorkar, Business Head, Bharatmatrimony.com; and other leading CEOs of franchise companies. The summit will conclude with a vote of thanks by Anurag Batra, Editor-in-Chief and MD, exchange4media.com.

The evening of March 11 will see the Indian Franchising Awards ceremony. The Awards are an endeavour to identify and recognise the best talent in the business of franchising by honouring outstanding players with a proven record of exceptional success across various categories. The categories for the awards include Indian Franchisor of the Year, Indian Global Franchisor, Supportive Franchisor, Win-Win Franchising Partnership, Social Benefit Through Franchising, Franchise Innovativeness, Franchise Growth Driver, Innovative Franchise Model, Franchisor for Emerging India, New Concept in Franchising, Franchising Woman of the Year, and Franchisee of the Year.

The distinguished jury members include Anurag Batra, Editor-In-Chief and MD, exchange4media.com; Ranjan Kapoor, WPP; and Rohinton Maloo, Media Vault, among others.

Along side the Summit and Awards will be the Indian Franchising Exhibition, to be held from March 10-12.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment