Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

HHITA Awards 2006: Vineet Jain awarded ITA Scroll of Honour

Font Size   16
HHITA Awards 2006: Vineet Jain awarded ITA Scroll of Honour

Television in India had much to celebrate with the sixth Hero Honda Indian Television Academy (HHITA) awarding some of the best work done in the industry, both behind the camera and in front of the camera.

Shashi Ranjan, Convenor of Indian Television Academy (ITA), said, “An eminent jury headed by Asha Parekh went through the numerous nominations. The jury also comprised stalwarts like Mir Muneer (writer of serials like ‘Campus’, ‘Amanat’, and ‘Saans’, among others), Sunil Chowdhry (Director and writer of ‘Nukkad’, ‘Karamchand’, ‘Rajni’ and others), Karan Razdan, Manju Singh, Nirmal Pandey, Kalpana Lajmi, Bharti Pradhan (writer, journalist, Editor of ‘Movie International’), Gyan Ranjan Sahai, Anand Rai, and Zarina Wahab.”

Some of the popular awards given out saw Zee TV’s ‘Saath Phere’ winning the Best Serial Award; STAR Plus was adjudged the Best Entertainment Channel; MTV won the Best Music Channel Award; Zee Cinema was declared the Best Hindi Movie Channel. Disney Channel was given the Best Children’s Channel Awards; Aaj Tak won the Best Hindi News Channel Awards, while CNN-IBN and ESPN won the Best English News Channel and Best Sports Channel Awards, respectively.

Rajdeep Sardesai was adjudged the Best Host, while actors Hussain and Mandira Bedi won the GR8 Faces of Year Male and Female Awards, respectively. The highest honour of the evening, the ITA Scroll of Honour was presented to BCCL’s Vineet Jain.

Anu Ranjan, President, ITA, said, “This is the sixth year of the HHITA Awards and each year the Awards have grown bigger and bigger and the nominations received have increased manifold. A record 2,707 nominations were received for HHITA 2006, with 360 programmes, 82 production houses and nearly 65 channels taking part. The nominations were received from a wide spectrum of the television industry, be it soaps, comedies, telefilms, documentaries, musicals, news and current affairs, lifestyle shows, etc.”

News channels did have much to celebrate. Koteshwar Rao won the Award for Best Editing in the Non-fiction Category, while ‘Missing in Action’ was adjudged the Best Non-Fiction TV Documentary.

Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN and IBN 7, said, “It’s a moment of great pride for the entire team whose hard work and commitment to deliver credible news has been recognised at such a prestigious platform. The recognition brings with it a sense of responsibility for setting new and higher benchmarks in the field of news reportage. We see this as an impetus to continue with the spirit of ‘whatever it takes’ and continuously work towards being the best.”

NDTV won four HHITA Awards. Speaking on the occasion, Dr Prannoy Roy, Chairman, NDTV, said, “The industry has once again recognised NDTV as the country’s best news channel with the best talent and innovative programming. Our strength lies in our people, our credibility and responsibility in delivering news, relevant to our viewers.”

“It’s a moment of pride and celebrations for all of us at NDTV and I congratulate all the winners and the entire team – both on and off the camera – for putting in such a fantastic effort,” he added.

NDTV’s Sreenivasan Jain won the Best News/Current Affairs Anchor Award for the show ‘Witness’. Shows like ‘Spectacular Spas of the World’, ‘Jai Jawan’ and ‘Muqabla’ also bagged Awards in various categories.

Speaking on Aaj Tak’s win, TV Today CEO, G Krishnan, said, “This is an extraordinary achievement for Aaj Tak. Not only have we consistently won awards for being the best news channel, but we have done this in the face of ever-increasing competition. Sabse Tez is not just our tagline, it is a way of life for our entire team. Our passion for news and the impact we create is unmatched not only back home but also internationally.”


NP Singh, CEO of Sony Pictures Networks India, talks of SPN’s growth drivers, pay wall for content, sharing IP and more…

The future of the industry will be 1:1 advertising as traditional channels, like television, become more addressable: Bryan Kennedy, Epsilon

The Founder of Pocket Aces shared his insights on how the consumption of content has evolved and how digital media is growing as the preferred medium of entertainment.

The production house has already established itself as the leader in the non-scripted genres. However, Rege now wants Endemol to achieve the same in the original scripted zone and film production

A look at the South Indian movies which boosted the viewership of certain channels in week 45 (November 4-10)

The Indian advertising industry currently stands at Rs. 56,398 crore, predicted to grow at a rate of 14 per cent by 2017

Naidu also talks about the ushering in of a new era of digital payments and says this is just the beginning and there’s lots of space for newer players to step in and evolve