Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Delhi’s Team Samridhi wins at the grand finale of Media Quiz 2009

Font Size   16
Delhi’s Team Samridhi wins at the grand finale of Media Quiz 2009

‘Media Quotient – what’s your MQ?’, the Media Quiz 2009, came to a grand finale in Mumbai on May 22. The first of its kind initiative from exchange4media had earlier generated quite a buzz in Delhi and Kolkata. Team Samridhi Finance from Delhi beat five other finalists to win the Media Quiz 2009. Star News was the main sponsor for the event, while Mumbai Mirror was the associate sponsor. Fever was the mic sponsor for the event.The audience poll sponsor was Career 360. Encompass was the event partner.

Speaking at the event, Anurag Batra, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, exchange4media Group, said, “Our aim at this unique and pioneering endeavour from exchange4media is to bring the two aspects of media – intellect and a fun together.The Indian Media Industry has grown in the last ten years and has people, personalities, trivia, anecdotes and data to quiz on.It is exchange4media's way of showcasing leaders and trendsetters in Indian Media industry.”

Prior to the finals, the Mumbai round of the Media Quiz 2009 was held that saw the highest number of participating teams at 45. The two finalist teams from the Mumbai round were Team Pinstorm comprising Mahesh Murthy and Reshma and Team TCS. Team Pinstorm emerged the winner following a tough, but interesting fight.

The six finalist teams taking part in the finals were Delhi: Team Samridhi Financial Services comprising Ranjeet Varma and Vimal Joshi, and Team Krew Kut Klan comprising TV Today’s /NBT Sorbojeet Chatterjee and Aman Nayar; Kolkata: Team JWT comprising Gautam Roy and Angshuman Roy, and Team Cognizant/TCS comprising Sonna and Abhishek; and Team Pinstorm and team TCS.

Quizmasters Sam Balsara, CMD, Madison India and Vikram Sakhuja CEO, GroupM, kept the participants and the audience enthralled with their brain teasers and their anecdotes. Many in the audience could be seen prompting the answers to the participating teams. The joi de vivre was very much apparent at the event.

The six finalists went through six rounds of Direct questioning and Visual questioning before the winner was announced. Ranjeet Varma and Vimal Joshi of Samridhi Financial Services were the clear winners with 100 points. There was a tie between NBT/TV Today’s Chatterjee and Nayar from Delhi and Pinstorm’s Mahesh Murthy and Reshma from Mumbai, with both teams scoring 70 points each. They were declared joint runners up.

JWT Kolkata and TCS Mumbai scored 60 points each, while TCS/Cognizant scored 50 points.

The Media Quiz sought to bring together media professionals on a common platform to network and interact, while simultaneously competing to win. The Quiz covered all aspects of the Media discipline – people, places, stories of origin, research, the business and its connection with Indian and bits of global media.

The event concluded with Avinash Pandey of MCCS, the sponsors of MQ said " The quiz masters Sam Balsara and Vikram Sakhuja have made this quiz and initiative so much fun and enjoyable , kudos to their performance."

Other partners for the Media Quiz 2009 included Creatigies, which was the marketing partner. Nokia E-Series, KFC, DT Cinema, Titan Liberty and Reebok were among the gift sponsors.

Also read:

Team JWT wins the Kolkata round of Media Quiz 2009

Team Samridhi emerge winners of the Delhi ‘Media Quiz’


NP Singh, CEO of Sony Pictures Networks India, talks of SPN’s growth drivers, pay wall for content, sharing IP and more…

The future of the industry will be 1:1 advertising as traditional channels, like television, become more addressable: Bryan Kennedy, Epsilon

The Founder of Pocket Aces shared his insights on how the consumption of content has evolved and how digital media is growing as the preferred medium of entertainment.

The production house has already established itself as the leader in the non-scripted genres. However, Rege now wants Endemol to achieve the same in the original scripted zone and film production

A look at the South Indian movies which boosted the viewership of certain channels in week 45 (November 4-10)

The Indian advertising industry currently stands at Rs. 56,398 crore, predicted to grow at a rate of 14 per cent by 2017

Naidu also talks about the ushering in of a new era of digital payments and says this is just the beginning and there’s lots of space for newer players to step in and evolve