Others CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2007 award to be held in Delhi on January 29

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2007 award to be held in Delhi on January 29

Author | exchange4media News Service | Tuesday, Jan 08,2008 6:44 AM

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2007 award to be held in Delhi on January 29

The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2007 will be held in partnership with Hindustan Times on January 29, 2008 in Delhi. The award recognises Indians whose contributions to the country during the year have strengthened the foundation of our society and helped build brand India.

The award will adhere to the same four-tier process of selection, where the Network18 Editorial Board draws the list of nominees; the jury ratifies them; followed by the Electoral College, which votes along with Indian citizens. The process will be audited by Ernst & Young to ensure that the award is above reproach and bias.

Said Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN and IBN 7, “The immense success of the initiative last year has given the initiative tremendous credibility. It is an attempt on our behalf to create one of the most sought after and prestigious titles to be bestowed on a civilian. Like the first, this year’s CNN-IBN Indian of the Year will have the entire country involved in celebrating Indian achievement across various spheres.”

“The entire country was witness to the success of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2006. This year we hope to meet and surpass the expectations from this award. We hope to contribute significantly to building Brand India by showcasing celebrated sons and daughters of India on a platform which transcends the Indian diaspora, even as the interest in India keeps rapidly increasing,” observed Dilip Venkatraman, Director Marketing, CNN-IBN and IBN 7.

Tier I will consist of the Network18 editorial board comprising Raghav Bahl, Rajdeep Sardesai, Senthil Chengalvarayan, Ashutosh, Sanjay Pugalia, Udayan Mukherjee, Suhasini Haider, Vivek Law, Anubha Bhonsle, Sagarika Ghose, Rajeev Masand, Sanjeev Paliwal, Darain Shahidi, Sumit Awasthi and Shereen Bhan. It will come up with the first list of nominations.

The voting weightage for the entire property is divided equally between Citizens’ Vox Pop and the Electoral College, that is, 50 per cent citizens Vox Pop and 50 per cent Electoral College. After the above process has determined the six individual winners of the six categories, the jury will deliberate on who amongst the six will be CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2007.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment