Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

And the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’ is...

Font Size   16
And the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’ is...

The stage is set for crowning the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’ at Taj Lands End in Mumbai today evening. It sure is a very distinguished list of 25 nominees and the selection has been extremely difficult. Who will emerge as the ‘impact Person of the Year’ from amongst these industry stalwarts is a question intriguing everyone. Well, the answer is just a few hours away.

exchange4media spoke to a few industry people on who, according to them, could be ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’. The answer was a varied one.

Anisha Motwani, EVP – Marketing & CMO - New Markets, Max New York Life Insurance, thinks that Lalit Modi would be the one. “I think Lalit Modi is one of the strongest contenders for the Award. My second choice would be Rajesh Kamat and Haresh Chawla of Colors,” she added.

Khushroo Bhadha, Publisher, FHM India, feels Ronnie Screwvala has done a fabulous job in the past year. “I think Ronnie Screwvala is the person I would want to win, because in such a short time, he has done so much and all of them are doing well. Another person who is a strong contender is Subhash Chandra,” Bhadha added.

Like Motwani, Lowe’s R Balki, too, feels that this year’s ‘impact Person of the Year’ should be Lalit Modi. “It surely is Lalit Modi, because he has made a huge impact and is changing the face of cricket,” he said.

The nominees this year include the Who’s Who of the industry – Sudhir Agarwal, Girish Agarwal and Pawan Agarwal of the Bhaskar Group; Anil Ambani of ADAG; Raghav Bahl of Network18; Sam Balsara of Madison World; Shobhana Bhartia of HT Media; Subhash Chandra of Essel Group; Haresh Chawla & Rajesh Kamat of Network 18/Colors; Agnello Dias of JWT India; Arnab Goswami of Times Now; Shailesh Gupta and Sanjay Gupta of Jagran Prakashan; Samir Jain and Vineet Jain of TOI Group; Kalanidhi Maran of Sun Network; Sunil B Mittal of Bharti Airtel; Lalit Modi of IPL; Indrani Mukerjea and Peter Mukerjea of INX Media; Sameer Nair of NDTV Imagine; AP Parigi of ENIL; Aroon Purie of India Today Group; T Venkattram Reddy of Deccan Chronicle; Prannoy Roy of NDTV; Rajdeep Sardesai of CNN IBN; Rajesh Sawhney and Amit Khanna of Reliance Entertainment; Ronnie Screwvala of UTV Network; Uday Shankar of Star India; and Rajat Sharma of India TV.

The first person to be awarded the ‘impact Person of the Year’ in 2005 was Peter Mukerjea. The year 2006 saw Rajdeep Sardesai being adjudged ‘impact Person of the Year’, while king of good times Vijay Mallya was ‘impact Person of the Year 2007’.

Also read:

Stage set to crown ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’ tomorrow


Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

The interesting animated rap music video encapsulates Droom’s ecosystem tools and their role in facilitating second-hand automobile transactions

Perfumes are invisible and these new ads from Skinn create a story out of this

New campaign aims at first-time users by providing ‘first-night free’ – a first-ever offering by the brand on online hotels booking