Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

ABC & MRUC nominate team for IRS-NRS merged RSCI; Lynn de Souza is Chairperson

Font Size   16
ABC & MRUC nominate team for IRS-NRS merged RSCI; Lynn de Souza is Chairperson

As the dotted lines for implementing the merger of the National Readership Survey (NRS) and Indian Readership Survey (IRS) are being signed and the Readership Studies Council of India (RSCI) is becoming a reality from just an idea, both the Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC), that is fronting the NRS, and the Media Research Users’ Council (MRUC) that owns the IRS, are moving forward with the next steps of the RSCI.

The first amongst these is the formation of the committee that would constitute the RSCI. This committee is expected to be in office for a two-year term.

Given that the RSCI is designed to be a partnership of equals between the MRUC and the ABC, the committee would include 10 members from each body. The majority of these members represent media owners or publishers. There are three members from both ABC and MRUC coming from advertising agencies and two members from each, representing the advertisers.

Both sides had agreed for the first Chairperson to be from the MRUC – it is understood that the responsibility has been placed on Lynn de Souza, Chairman & CEO, Lintas Media Group, to be the first Chairperson of the RSCI.

The Publisher members from the ABC are Vijay Darda (Chairman & MD, Lokmat Group of Publications), T Venkattram Reddy (Chairman, Deccan Chronicle), Jacob Mathew (Executive Editor, Malayala Manorama Group), Hindustan Times’ Benoy Roychowdhury and India Today’s CEO Ashish Bagga. From the MRUC, the Publisher members are Bombay Samachar’s Chairman Hormusji Cama, Eenadu’s I Venkat, Ravindra Kumar (Editor & Managing Diretcor, The Statesman), Jagran Group’s CEO Sanjay Gupta and The Times of India’s Rahul Kansal.

Sam Balsara (Chairman & MD, Madison World), Shashi Sinha (CEO, Lodestar UM) and Vikram Sakhuja (CEO, GroupM South Asia) are the Advertising Agency nominees from the ABC and in addition to Lynn de Souza, MRUC has nominated Leo Burnett India’s Chairman Arvind Sharma and Aegis Media’s CEO Ashish Bhasin to be on the RSCI.

Representing the Advertiser side, there is Tata Teleservices’ Lloyd Mathias and HSBC Bank’s Srikanth Srinivasmadhavan from the MRUC and S M Ahmad and Tata Motors’ Ravi Pisharody from the ABC.

As per information available with exchange4media, these are the nominees suggested by the ABC and the MRUC. However, the ABC annual general meeting would conclude this week. Further details and confirmations would be available after the ABC AGM.

While the data from the RSCI would be called IRS, it promises to be significantly value added to build accuracy and robustness and be a true gold standard for the Indian print industry, as the new survey progresses in time. All points of disagreement in the current IRS that also includes the data’s inability to address specialist publications and periodicals would be taken care of in the new research.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Launches third phase of TVC campaign ‘Think it. Done’

Based in Mumbai, Usha has nearly two decades of experience in the Indian media and entertainment sector and will serve as a strategic advisor to H+K’s diverse portfolio of clients with a special empha...

Report based on media channel data in 96 countries and detailed findings from the world‘s key ad markets, which between them account for approximately two-thirds of the value of global advertising tra...