Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

31st All India RAPA Awards – Getting younger with age

Font Size   16
31st All India RAPA Awards – Getting younger with age

The 31st All India RAPA (Radio and Television Advertising Practitioners’ Association of India) Awards were recently conducted with big fanfare, with the who’s who of the television and radio fraternity in attendance.

Radio veteran and one of the most recognized voices, Ameen Sayani, spoke a few words on how he felt as radio broadcasting completed 100 years. Reminiscing the first RAPA meeting, Sayani said, “I remember, it was held at Lintas and Alyque Padamsee was present too at the meeting.”

The 31st All India RAPA awards saw 67 awards being given away in 59 categories, which involved almost every aspect of radio and television advertising. The inclusion of many categories like Digital Visual Effects, Radio - Public Service Advertising Spot, TV Game Show – Hindi, TV – Thriller Hindi, are a sign that RAPA has been all pervasive in its endeavour to encourage and reward performance.

Radio Mirchi won an award for the ‘Radio Jingle (English)’ category for its Pink Jingle. The witty advertisement of developed by FCB Ulka won the award for ‘TV commercial – English’, while the much awarded The Times of India’s ‘Pakya Select Ho Gaya’ commercial bagged the ‘TV Commercial – Hindi’ award.

Karan Johar won the TV Anchor award for ‘Koffee with Karan’. Jagjit Singh picked an award in the ‘Singer – TV Title Song’ category for his soulful rendering of title song of the serial ‘Kasshish’.

Special trophies were also awarded to Usha Bhasin (Delhi) for All Round Contribution to Radio and Television; Deven Bhojani for Male Performance on TV (‘Baa, Bahoo Aur Baby’); Ratna Pathak Shah for Female Performance on TV for ‘Sarabhai v/s Sarabhai’; Ramesh Deo Productions for Campaign of the Year (State Bank of India); Avanish Agrawal for Outstanding Copywriter Hindi (Radio/TV) for ‘Maahi Ve’; and Radio Mirchi Chennai for Campaign of the Year on Radio (Pink Hutch).

Apart from Sayani, Dr Chandraprakash Dwivedi, Rinki Bhattacharya, Karuna Samtani, Ramesh Deo, Manjul Sinha, Javed Siddiqui, Pushpa Bharati, Sandesh Shandilya, Anil Ganguli, Jyoti Venkatesh, Gufi Paintal and Nandita Puri were part of the judging process.

RAPA, an organization over 30 years old, only seems to get younger with respect to the relevance it has been able to maintain with its audience.


Abhishek Punia, Co-founder and COO of ARM Worldwide, tells about how they re-branded themselves from ARM Digital to ARM Worldwide and in the process marked their presence globally

Srinivasan opens up on what prompted their recent rebrand, their foray into bus depots and developing the software that displays Bengaluru Metropolitan Transport Corporation's (BMTC) Passenger Information System for all the major bus depots in Bangalore.

Software and Technology, Consulting, Healthcare seem to be increasingly using Webinars to engage with their clients and employees

Chandy indulges in his love for reading and learning something new over the weekends

Though revenue from media operations grew by 10.6% yoy to Rs 760.8cr, the film production revenue declined by 18.0% yoy

At the inaugural one-on-one session between Aroon Purie, Chairman & Editor-in-chief of India Today Group and Anurag Batra, Chairman & Editor-in-chief BW Businessworld & Exchage4media Group, Purie spok...

At the 11th Indian Magazine Congress in New Delhi Rajdeep Sardesai, Consulting Editor, India Today, remembered the time when he used to work for Times of India