Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

25 nominees announced for ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’

Font Size   16
25 nominees announced for ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’

It has been a long and difficult list to choose from, but finally 25 nominees have been drawn up for the ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’. In its fourth year, the ‘impact Person of the Year’ is an annual initiative of ‘impact’, India’s leading media, advertising and marketing weekly from the exchange4media Group. The winner would be announced at a grand ceremony in Mumbai on December 17, 2008.

Like the previous year, Nielsen has come in as the research partner for this year as well. In keeping with the philosophy of the property – which is a poll of, by and for industry practitioners across media, advertising and marketing – the list of nominees has been suggested by industry practitioners themselves.

Last year, Dr Vijay Mallya, Chairman of the UB Group and Kingfisher Airlines, was declared the ‘impact Person of the Year’. In 2006, CNN-IBN’s Rajdeep Sardesai was chosen, while in 2005, the inaugural year of the Awards, it was INX’s Peter Mukerjea (who was then with Star India) won the title in its inaugural edition. Incidentally, Sardesai and Mukerjea are among the nominees for this year’s Awards too.

Joining the stalwarts in the media, marketing and advertising universe this year are Anil Ambani of ADAG and Sunil Mittal of Bharti Airtel.

Among the media buying and planning fraternity, Madison World’s Sam Balsara finds a place in the prestigious list. While from the creative side, Agnello Dias of JWT India also features in the list of nominees.

From among media owners, the heads of most large media houses are among the nominees. They include, ZEEL’s Subhash Chandra, Sun Network’s Kalanidhi Maran, BCCL’s Samir and Vineet Jain, Network18’s Raghav Behl, HT Media’s Shobhana Bhartia and India Today’s Aroon Purie.

Other important nominees include NDTV’s Prannoy Roy, UTV’s Ronnie Screwvala, Network18/Colors’ Haresh Chawla and Rajesh Kamat, INX Media’s Indrani and Peter Mukerjea, NDTV Imagine’s Sameer Nair, Star India’s Uday Shankar, ENIL’s AP Parigi, India TV’s Rajat Sharma, Times Now’s Arnab Goswami and CNN-IBN’s Rajdeep Sardesai.

From the print media, the nominees include Bhaskar Group’s Sudhir, Girish and Pawan Agarwal and Jagran Prakashan’s Shailesh and Sanjay Gupta. T Venkattram Reddy from Deccan Chronicle has also made it to the list.

From Reliance Entertainment, Rajesh Sawhney and Amit Khanna have been included in the nominee list. Last but not the least is Lalit Modi, the man behind Indian Premier League, who has been chosen by the industry as among the top 25 people who have made an impact in 2008.

(With additional inputs from Cassandra Serpes)

Also read:

Voting on for ‘impact Person of the Year 2008’

Industry gives its verdict: Dr Vijay Mallya declared 'impact Person of the Year 2007'


Aparna Bhosle, Business Cluster Head - Premium & FTA GEC channels - ‎ZEEL, on its new property, sponsors, investment on acquisition and response to BBC First

In an interview with exchange4media, Ferzad Palia says that most successful brands are not those who spend the most money

As Milind Pathak takes over as Managing Director - Southeast Asia, Httpool, we chat with him on his new role, aspirations and his plans to aggressively penetrate the operations of the group in the Southeast Asian market

The group released the Little Hearts online-only campaign, #BreakSomeHearts, early this year and is on the path to make many more of its brands available on the digital platform

Though business has picked up, the private FM industry expects festive ad spends to be subdued compared to 2016