Writer: Vinod Behl - Monday, Mar 30,2009 8:10 AM

Neerja Chowdhury elected President of Indian Women Press Corps

Neerja Chowdhury elected President of Indian Women Press Corps

Neerja Chowdhury of Indian Express and TK Rajalakshmi of Frontline have been unanimously elected as President and General Secretary, respectively, of the Indian Women Press Corps (IWPC) for the year 2009-10.

Navika Kumar of Times Now is the new Treasurer, while Manjari Chaturvedi of Navbharat Times and Aruna Singh of Sadhna News are the newly-elected View-Presidents of the IWPC. Like the President and General Secretary, they were also elected unopposed. The only contest witnessed was for the post of Joint Secretary. Sonal Kelloge (Freelance) was elected to the post defeating Geeta Shree of Hindi Outlook.

It was a ‘low voting’ election with only 146 members exercising their franchise. For the 21-member executive committee, as many as 29 candidates were in the fray. The newly-elected executive committee members include Gargi Parsai (The Hindu), Shushma Rama Chandran (Freelance), Neelam Jeena (Andhra Prabha), Annapurna Jha (UNI), Anita Katyal (Tribune), Jyoti Malhotra (Freelance), Ira Jha (Freelance), Parul Sharma (Jansatta), Saroj Nagi (Hindustan Times), Kalyani Shankar (Freelance), Ritu Sarin (Indian Express), Shubha Singh (Freelance), Karuna Madan (Freelance), Kumkum Chadha (Hindustan Times), Shanta Sarabjeet Singh (Art Critic), Rashmi Sehgal and Narayani Ganesh (The Times of India), Madhuri Gupta (Freelance), Vimal Issar (Freelance), Ravinder Bawa (Aajtak), and Mannika Chopra (Freelance).

For the past few years, the executive committee has been dominated by veteran journalists. But this time, there is a surprise inclusion of a few young faces, moreover, the elections this time witnessed the ouster of a select group of veteran women journalists that had been occupying the centrestage for the last few years.

Write A Comment
Showing comments

Today's other headlines