World Brand Congress 2009: Winners of Global Awards for Brand Excellence announced

World Brand Congress 2009: Winners of Global Awards for Brand Excellence announced

Author | exchange4media Mumbai Bureau | Thursday, Nov 05,2009 7:22 AM

World Brand Congress 2009: Winners of Global Awards for Brand Excellence announced

The two-day World Brand Congress 2009 got underway in Mumbai on November 4. Day One concluded with the Global Awards for Brand Excellence, wherein awards were given away in 15 categories, including Jury’s special Award, Brand Super Achiever of the Year and Brand Leadership Award.

World Brand Congress is presented by Hindustan Times and Canon, while Fly Kingfisher is the associate partner and domestic partner, and BigAdda its exclusive social networking partner.

The Award for Brand Leadership under the Airlines category was given to Kingfisher Airlines Ltd. The Brand Leadership in Internet Business went to TimesOfMoney Ltd. In the Media/ Entertainment category SAB TV and Yahoo! India bagged the awards. Brand Leadership in Radio was awarded to Synergy Media Entertainment Ltd (My FM).

Award for Brand Leadership in Advergame of the Year – Entertainment & Media went to NDTV Imagine – ‘Rakhi ka Swayamvar’; Advergame of the Year – Telecom was given to Reliance Mobile; Advergame of the Year – Auto was given to Tata Nano; Advergame of the Year – Foods & Beverages went to Cadbury, while the most ‘played’ Avdergame of the Year award was given to Gillette. Parle Products won the award for Advergame of the Year in the kid’s space.

The Best Marketing Campaigns were awarded to Zapak Digital Entertainment Ltd (Zapak Cash League), Aircel Ltd, Yahoo! India, and Reliance Consumer Finance.

GroupM won the Agency of the Year award, while the award for social marketing went to Janashakthi Insurance Company Ltd (for Tharunyata Hettak), TV Today Network (for Declare War on Terror Campaign), and Godfrey Phillips India Ltd (for Amodini).

The award for Popular News Channel of the Year – English was given to Times Now (Times Global Broadcasting Company Ltd), while Popular News Channel – Hindi was awarded to Aaj Tak (TV Today Network Ltd), and the Popular Business News Channel award went to Bloomberg UTV.

Award in Individual Category – Creative Professional of the Year was given to Rajiv Rao, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather, and Indira Rangarajan, Programme Director (Radio Mirchi - Mumbai), Entertainment Network India Ltd. Ronnie (Rohinton) Screwvala, CEO & Founder Chairman, UTV Group, was declared Media Person of the Year.

The award for Marketing Professional of the Year went to S Roy Choudhary, Director - Marketing, Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd, and Rahul Saighal, Chief Marketing Officer, Aircel Ltd.

The Outstanding Marketing Professionals of the year were Prakash Bagri, Director Marketing (South Asia), Intel Technology India Pvt Ltd, and Mukund Govind Rajan, Managing Director, Tata Teleservices, Maharashtra.

The Young Achiever of the Year award went to Jay Gupta, Customer Care Executive and Managing Director, The Loot (India) Pvt Ltd; Avijit Nanda, President, TimesOfMoney Ltd; Suresh Balaji, VP Marketing & Brand Managmenet, HSBC Bank Middle East Ltd; and Sapna Rana, AVP Programming (Radio Mirchi - Delhi), Entertainment Network Indian Ltd.

Brand Builder of the Year award was given to Vikram Rao, Business Director – Aditya Birla Group (Overseas AFS Business), and Nitin Mathur, Director Marketing, Yahoo! India Pvt Ltd.

This apart, CEO of the Year award went to Sam Balsara, Chairman and Managing Director, Madison World. AP Parigi, Group CEO, Eros International Media Pvt Ltd was conferred the Life Time Achievement Award.

The Jury’s special Award for Outstanding contribution to Social Marketing was given to Sangeeta Talwar, President – South Asia, Tata Tea Group & Executive Director – Tata Tea Ltd.

The Brand Super Achiever of the Year award was given to Dr Bhaskar Das, Executive President, Bennett Coleman & Co Ltd, while the Brand Leadership Award went to Tarun Joshi, CEO, Brandhouse Retials Ltd, and Vineet Kanaujja, General Manager - Marketing, Safexpress Pvt Ltd.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment