Top Story


Home >> Marketing >> Article

Pantaloon’s Kishore Biyani voted ‘International Retailer of the Year’

Font Size   16
Pantaloon’s Kishore Biyani voted ‘International Retailer of the Year’

Kishore Biyani, Managing Director, Pantaloon Retail India Ltd, has been conferred with the International Retailer of the Year Award at the 96th Annual Convention and Expo of the National Retail Federation (NRF), USA, held at the Jacob Javits Convention Centre, New York recently. NRF is the world’s largest retail trade association with a membership that comprises all retail formats and channels of distribution.

This prestigious award is given to a company that has achieved international reputation for creative genius, inspirational leadership and distinguished service to the retail industry. The previous recipients of this award include Metro AG (Germany), Carrefour (France), Ito Tokada Group (Japan), Zara (Spain) and Boticario (Brazil).

Biyani, while accepting Award, said, “It is a moment of pride not just for our company, Pantaloon Retail India Ltd, but for our entire country. It would have been more appropriate had we got this Award after global retailers had stepped into India. We are in a no-competition scenario currently, but we excel in what we do.”

Talking about Indian consumers, Biyani said, “We can take a person out of India but not India out of a person. We have a deep understanding of Indian consumers and we offer everything they need every time, everywhere through every format of retailing.”

While complimenting Biyani’s achievements, Farooq Kathwari, Chairman, National Retail Federation, said, “Pantaloon Retail India Ltd is the unanimous choice of the jury for the International Retailer of the Year Award this year. We applaud the impressive growth of the organization, whose turnover is poised to become $6 billion by 2010.”

The dignitaries present from India at the award presentation ceremony in New York included Sailesh Haribakthi, Managing Partner, Haribakthi & Co; Ashok Maheshwari, Managing Director, Magnet Supermarkets, India; Hemchandra Javeri, President & CEO, Madura Garments; Damodar Mall, President & CEO, Food Business; and Gibson G Vedamani, CEO, Retailers Association of India.

The other awardees were Reed Hastings, Founder Chairman & CEO of Netflix, who received NRF’s Innovator of the Year Award, and Millard Drexler, Chairman and CEO, J. Crew Group, Inc, who received NRF’s Gold Medal for retailing excellence.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Understanding the round-the-clock nature of change, KG Suresh, Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication, in a conversation with exchange4media, talked about his plans to introduce a fu...

The mall has a diverse range of media formats that includes, billboards, backlit kiosk, pillar wraps, product/promotion display spaces etc.

The beauty of the internet business is that as your cost curve flattens, your revenue curve keeps growing up and that's why the valuations are so high, said Ashish Hemrajani, Founder-CEO, BookMyShow