Top Story


Home >> Marketing >> Article

Hunt begins for Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 honours

Font Size   16
Hunt begins for Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 honours

This is a special year for Teacher’s Scotch whisky for more reasons than one – it is celebrating its 175th anniversary across the world; it continues to celebrate its leadership position in the scotch segment in India and is set to host the Teacher’s Achievement Awards for the fifth successful year. The festivities have commenced with the proud announcement of the nominations in various categories for the Teacher’s Achievement Award 2005.

The Teacher’s Achievement awards were instituted in 2001. These annual awards aim to recognise individual accomplishments, with the twin objective of honouring excellence as well as inspiring others to scale new heights. The awards recognise excellence in five different categories, namely Business, Sports, Communication, Entertainment and Teacher’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The nominees in the Business category for 2005 include Capt G.R. Gopinath, Managing Director Air Deccan; Analjit Singh, Chairman, Max New York Life India; SubhinderSingh Prem, Managing Director, Reebok India; V.G. Sidhartha, Chairman, Amalgamated Bean Coffee Trading Company Ltd and Subir Raha, Chairman and Managing Director of ONGC. The high profile jury that has been appointed to select a winner from this category includes stalwarts like Bharat Patel, Chairman, Procter & Gamble Hygiene and Health Care Limited; Gita Piramal, Managing Editor, The Smart Manager; and S.M. Datta, Chairman of EID Parry (India) Ltd.

In the Communications category, the nominees include Prasoon Pandey, (Ad film maker), Director of Corcoise Films; Rajiv Menon (Cinematographer, Photographer, Ad film maker & Film Director) Partner, Rajiv Menon Productions; Atul Kasbekar (Photographer) Chairman of Photographers Guild of India and Owner of Negative Space; Prabuddha Dasgupta (Photographer); Ram Madhvani (Film and Ad maker), Director of Equinox Films; Tarun Khiwal (Photographer) and Preeti Vyas Gianetti (Ad film maker) Chairperson & Chief Creative Director of Vyas Gianetti Creative.

The panel of judges for the Communications includes stalwarts like Kiran Khalap, Co-founder Chlorophyll-Brand and Communications Consultancy Ltd.; Prahalad Kakkar CEO, Genesis Films and Syeda Imam, Executive Creative Director, Contract Advertising.

The nominees in the Entertainment category include Rabbi Shergill (singer); Mandira Bedi (actress & TV personality); Anu Malik (music director); and Sonu Nigam (playback singer & actor). Choosing a winner from this category will be a jury comprising Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Sarod Maestro; Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma, Santoor Maestro and Music Director; Ramesh Sippy, Director, R.S. Productions and Manmohan Shetty, Chairperson, Adlabs Films Pvt. Ltd.

Achievers who have been named as nominees in the Sports category include Narain Karthikeyan (F 1 racing champion); Karun Chandhok (F 3 racing Champion); Jyoti Randhawa (ace golfer); Arjun Atwal (ace golfer) and Anjali Bhagwat (ace shooter). Judging the category for a winner will be P.K. Banerjee (Former Football player); Milkha Singh (former ace athlete) and Zafar Iqbal (former Indian hockey coach).

Announcing the ‘Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005’, Mr Harish Moolchandani, Managing Director, Allied Domecq Spirits and Wine (I) Pvt Ltd said, “With each passing year, we have aimed at making Teacher’s Achievement Awards an aspiration and an ode to the invincible spirit of triumph. We are pleased that the awards have been successful in recognising individual talents in various spheres of life and have also been able to influence others to strive for recognition. This is a memorable year for the brand with 2005 being the 5th successive year of the Teacher’s Achievement Awards and the 175th Anniversary of Teacher’s Scotch whisky. ”

The process of nomination and selection of the nominees and the winners is validated by KPMG, the leading global audit firm. The eligibility criteria for a Teacher’s Achievement Awards nominations are stringent and follow a strict, bias-free process. Some of the critical deciding factors include a proven track record, originality and innovation, peer recognition and significant milestones achieved in the chosen area of expertise, among others.

Along with KPMG, an esteemed advisory panel consisting of O.S. Kanwar, S.K. Bhargava, Piyush Pandey, Pritish Nandy, Ayaz Menon, Louis Banks, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan and Kris Srikkanth has been instrumental in guiding and suggesting the nominations this year.

The winners of the Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 will be announced at a gala awards presentation ceremony on November 26th this year at Taj Lands End, Mumbai.


Murthy hinted on a launch of a digital product sometime soon as competition continues to heat up

Anil Uniyal, CEO, Bloomberg|Quint, on his business objectives, the reason behind pushing back the launch of the channel and more

Oracle India believes that marketing has entirely evolved because of the change in the buying process of customers

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company

The film has been conceptualised by JWT and brilliantly leverages the insight that there are endless ways to win your partner back after a tiff

Amazon ruled BARC's Top 10 Brands and took the tenth spot in Top Advertisers for Week 41 (October 7-13)

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company