Top Story


Home >> International >> Article

Prasar Bharati gets a new chairman

Font Size   16
Prasar Bharati gets a new chairman

After being headless for nearly three years, Prasar Bharati got a new chairman—space scientist U R Rao. An order to this effect was issued by information and broadcasting ministry following the recommendations made by a selection committee headed by vice-president Krishan Kant.

The post of the Chairman was vacant for the past three years. The last chairman of the board, Mr. Nikhil Chakraborty, died nearly three years ago. Mr. Rao will hold the post of the Chairman till November 2003.

The selection committee also appointed three new part-time members to the board – former V-C of Jamia Milia Lt. Gen M A Zaki, retired IAS official S Kasipandian and journalist Vidya Niwas Mishra.

The body still does not have a permanent chief executive officer, a post which has been filled by additional secretaries in the information and broadcasting ministry as acting CEOs, ever since SS Gill was removed more than three years ago. Mr. Anil Baijal is the acting CEO at present.


Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Conceptualised and executed by WATConsult, the campaign focuses on how Lotus Make-up is an enabler for women from various walks of life

iProspect released the third annual 2018 Future Focus Whitepaper geared to examine how machines and technology will impact marketing and advertising in the year ahead

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO