Top Story


Home >> Digital >> Article

Maya Academy announces jury for 24fps Animation Awards

Font Size   16
Maya Academy announces jury for 24fps Animation Awards

Maya Academy of Advanced Cinematics Ltd (MAAC), one of India’s leading animation and visual effects training academies, has announced the panel of jury for the 24fps- Animation Awards 2005-06. The jury members will nominate the winners for the 24fps Awards under three categories – Student Team for Short Films, Student Individual for Short Films and 24 FPS Best Animated Film - Studios/ Production Houses.

This year’s jury members include: Ashish Kulkarni, Founder and CEO, AniRights Infomedia Pvt Ltd; Jai Natrajan, Production Consultant, Maya Entertainment; Jesh Krishnamurthy, Visual Effects Supervisor, Anibrain; Kireet Khurana, Creative Director and CEO, 2NZ Animation; Nicholas Camecho, Creative Director, Zoo Films, UK; Nina Sabnani, Activity Vice-Chairperson (Education), National Institute of Design; Sanjiv Waeerkar, UTV; Sesha Prasad, Rhythm & Hues; Shelley Page, European Representative, DreamWorks Animation; Joan Vogelesang, President and CEO, Toon Boom Animation Inc; Virendra Chauhan, Crest Animation Studio; Nilesh Sardesai, Prana Studios; and Shana Koenig, Prana Studios.

The 24fps Animation Awards is a celebration of animation excellence and recognition of the best animation talent in India. It aims at enhancing the talent and skills of students of animation by bringing them face to face with realities of working in the world of production, strict deadlines and quality control.

Rajesh Turakhia, CEO, Maya Entertainment Ltd, said, “The task at hand for the participants was to make an outstanding animation films that stands apart in creativity, entertains the audience and yet conveys the gravity of the subject at hand. Therefore, with such a celebrated and credible panel of judges, this award is sure to recognise some of the best talents that we have in India and abroad.”

The 24fps Animation Awards plays an important role in creating growth for the industry for both the student community as well as commercially run production houses. For students of MAAC, this event stimulates the real studio environment by putting the students through a tough test, results in a production ready animator. This in turn helps them produce their own portfolio and demo reel, which is a basic requirement when they enter the professional world of animation.

MAAC has raised the stakes this year to enhance the overall 24fps experience and to reach new ground, two new categories of awards have been added this year with total prize amounting to Rs 25 lakh. The 24fps best 3D Animated Short Award: Students Individuals category is open to students of 3D animation across the country. Students have to submit a 3D animated film of up to three minutes to qualify for the awards.

The event will culminate in a grand showcase and awards ceremony that will be held on April 21, 2006 in Mumbai.


Markus Noder, Managing Partner, Serviceplan International, shared innovative tools, ideas and methodologies to generate tangible business values

The primary reason that led to growth of OTT is the constant improvement of internet speed and service across the country: Sandeep Gupta, ACT Fibernet

Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

The Tata Group is considering review of its Public Relations mandate which is currently handled by PR firm Edelman in association with Rediffusion. The review is likely to happen post January 2018.

KVL Narayan Rao, Group CEO, and Executive Vice Chairman of NDTV passed away at 63 after battling cancer for two years

Week 44 (October 29-November 4, 2017) of RAM Ratings saw Big FM and Fever FM dominating Mumbai. Meanwhile Fever, Radio City and Radio Mirchi dominated Delhi, Bangalore and Kolkata respectively.