Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Dataquest Awards 2008: Lakshmi Narayanan, Sanjeev Bikhchandani win top honours

Dataquest Awards 2008: Lakshmi Narayanan, Sanjeev Bikhchandani win top honours

Author | exchange4media News Service | Thursday, Oct 23,2008 8:12 AM

Dataquest Awards 2008: Lakshmi Narayanan, Sanjeev Bikhchandani win top honours

The 16th edition of the Dataquest Awards 2008, held in the Capital on October 22, saw the crème de la crème of Indian entrepreneurs in attendance. Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit was the chief guest, while Sir Richard Stagg, British High Commissioner, was the Guest of Honour.

Even as the dignitaries present at the event lamented the current economic downturn, Pradeep Gupta, Chairman, Cyber Media, sounded upbeat. Speaking on the occasion, Gupta said, “The current financial crisis presents an opportunity for Indian service providers to grow their market share across sectors and geographies. I am confident that the entrepreneurs will use this opportunity to sharpen their offerings by leveraging technological strengths and abundant manpower pool.”

Speaking on the Dataquest Awards, Prasanto K Roy, Chief Editor, Dataquest, said, “The Awards highlight the year gone by, a trend that continues in 2008-09. Growth in the Indian market overtook growth in exports for the first time in a decade, and with the global recession, the home market is going to be even more interesting for every technology player.”

“There is also this large untapped market for services companies, both in India and abroad. A long tail of companies and processes that do not outsource yet, may now be forced to look outside to reduce costs,” he added.

Coming to the prominent winners this year, Lakshmi Narayanan, Vice-Chairman, Cognizant Technology Solutions, was adjudged the Dataquest IT Person of the Year 2008. Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Founder, was declared Pathbreaker of the Year 2008. Delhi bagged the Award for Best e-Governed State of India.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dr DB Pathak, the Subharao M Nilekani Chair Professor, and Head of IIT Bombay-based Kanwal Rekhi School of Information Technology (KReSIT).

The corporate awards were given to the following companies on the basis of various annual surveys that Dataquest conducts on the IT industry:

1. Top Systems Company Award: Hewlett-Packard 2. Top Networking Company Award: Cisco Systems
3. Top Training Company Award: NIIT.
4. Top Growth Company: SAP India
5. Top IT Company & Top Exporter: TCS
6. Top Services Company (India Market) Award: IBM India
7. Top BPO Company: Genpact
8. Top Distribution Company: Ingram Micro
9. Top Software Company Award: Microsoft
10. Top T-School Award: IIT Kharagpur
11. Top Imaging and Printing: Hewlett-Packard
12. Top IT Employer: iGATE
13. Top BPO Employer: vCustomer

The Dataquest Annual Awards, now in its 16th year, have honored IT leaders like N Vittal, Ashok Soota, Azim Premji, Shiv Nadar, Rajendra Pawar, Kiran Karnik and S Ramadorai over the years.

The winners this year were chosen by a panel of experts like Ajai K Chowdhry, Chairman and CEO, HCL Infosystems and Dataquest IT Person of the Year 2007; Deep Kalra, Founder,; Krishan Dhawan, Chairman, Oracle India; Akshaya Bhargava, CEO, Butterfield Fulcrum Group (UK); Ajay Dhir, CIO, Jindal Steel; Padma Ravichander of Mercer; Pradeep Gupta, Chairman, CyberMedia; and Shyam Malhotra, Editor-in-Chief, CyberMedia Publications.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment