Who will be named IMPACT Person of the Year?

Who will be named IMPACT Person of the Year?

Author | exchange4media News Service | Monday, Dec 12,2016 8:10 AM

Who will be named IMPACT Person of the Year?

It is that time of the year again when the media, advertising and marketing circles are abuzz with talk of who will walk away with the coveted IMPACT Person of the Year (IPOY) award. In its twelfth year, the glitzy event promises to get even better with some of the biggest achievers of the year being a part of the nominee list.

The nominees for this year’s Impact Person of the Year award, to be held on Tuesday, December 13, are:


BABA RAMDEV & ACHARYA BALKRISHNA, Founders of Patanjali Ayurved


SHASHI SINHA, CEO, IPG Mediabrands India & CVL SRINIVAS, CEO, GroupM, South Asia, for their work on improving the measurement metrics across TV and Print



This year’s nominee list is a stellar one, comprising people whose list of achievements are an inspiration not just to everyone in the Media, Marketing & Advertising world, but also beyond it. So who will win the coveted IPOY trophy this year? IMPACT Person of the Year 2015 and TV news anchor Arnab Goswami’s pick is the Shashi Sinha-CVL Srinivas duo.

He says, “If I were to pick one out of this very difficult list, it would be CVL Srinivas and Shashi Sinha for the work they have done. Shashi and CVL are two remarkable industry professionals with deep knowledge of the complexities of this sector and it is only with their combined experience that they would have been able to navigate through the complexities that go into building, rolling out and mentoring a new measurement metrics in this country.” Goswami adds, “Bhavish Aggarwal and Vijay Shekhar Sharma of Paytm have done revolutionary things in the online space and I would commend them for what they have done.”

Sam Balsara, Chairman and Managing Director of Madison World placed his bets on the Patanjali duo: “Baba Ramdev will win hands down because of the phenomenal impact he has had in the last one year. For a company in the FMCG industry to come even close to Rs 5,000 crore in such a short time is quite incredible.”

Meanwhile, Mallikarjunadas CR, Group CEO, Starcom India is rooting for Vijay Shekhar Sharma, “Vijay Shekhar Sharma has revolutionized cash mobility and really transformed our lives. So, my vote would go to him.”

Amitabh Kant gets a thumbs-up from Kamal Bali, MD of Volvo India: “Amitabh Kant is a game-changer and a transformer. He truly deserves to win because of the kind of transformation and concepts he has brought into the bureaucracy and also initiatives taken to help ease doing business in India and attracting investments.”



Some of the past IPOY award winners are Rajdeep Sardesai of CNN IBN (2006), Rajesh Kamat of Colors (2009), Uday Shankar of STAR India (2010), Agnello Dias of TapRoot and Haresh Chawla of Network18 (2011), then I&B Minister Smt Ambika Soni (2012), Vineet Jain of the Times Group (2013), Punit Goenka of Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (2014) and then President- News & Editor-in-Chief, Times NOW and ET NOW, Arnab Goswami in 2015. Uday Shankar of STAR India was honoured as IMPACT Person of the Decade in 2014.

Write A Comment