Star News MQ 2011: Mumbai’s Team HUL-IMRB has the Media Quotient

Star News MQ 2011: Mumbai’s Team HUL-IMRB has the Media Quotient

Author | exchange4media Mumbai Bureau | Saturday, May 28,2011 11:50 AM

Star News MQ 2011: Mumbai’s Team HUL-IMRB has the Media Quotient

Star News MQ 2011 culminated in the grand finale in Mumbai on May 27. Emerging winners in the national finals was the Mumbai round winning duo of Ameya Samant (IMRB) and Pradeep Ramarathnam (HUL) with a total score of 110 points.

Doing the honours as quizmasters once again at the finals were Sam Balsara, Chairman & Managing Director, Madison World, and Vikram Sakhuja, Chief Executive Officer - South Asia, GroupM. This is the third consecutive year that both Balsara and Sakhuja donned the mantle of quizmasters for the Media Quiz.

The national finals were preceded by the Mumbai round, which saw Subhash Kamath, Managing Partner, BBH India, and Jasmin Sohrabji, Managing Director, OMD, test the participants’ Media Quotient.

The duo of Samant and Ramarathnam won the Mumbai regionals with a total of 100 points. Runner up in the Mumbai round was the team comprising Tata Capital and Trivin Tales, who scored 85 points. Interestingly, these very two teams had a face-off in last year’s Mumbai round of the Media Quiz. That time it was the Tata Capital-Trivin Tales team that walked away as winners of the Mumbai round, while the Samant-Ramarathnam team was the runner up.

In the finals this year, the Samant-Ramarathnam team faced some stiff competition from the Bangalore round winning team – Mitesh Agarwal of Sun Microsystems and Anustup Datta of Vertebrand.

Reacting to the win, an ecstatic Team Mumbai said, “Last year, we were the runner up and did not make it to the finals. This year we were determined to take the winners’ trophy home, and we did that.”

The journey of the third edition of Star News MQ had begun on May 6 in Delhi. This round saw the duo comprising the Godrej&Boyce/Accenture team – Kumar Vaibhav Tanwar and Rohan Khanna – emerge the winner. The quizmasters for the Delhi round were Sudha Natrajan, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Lintas Media Group, and Senjam Raj Sekhar, Senior Vice President and Head - Group Corporate Communications, Bharti Enterprises.

The Media Quiz then moved to Bangalore on May 13. The team comprising Mitesh Agarwal of Sun Microsystems and Anustup Datta of Vertebrand clinched the Bangalore round. Prateek Srivastava, Group President, South, O&M, and Rajesh Gangwani, Senior Vice President (South), JWT, were the quizmasters for the Bangalore round.

The Kolkata round, which was held on May 20, was won by Team Inmaniacs, comprising Gautam Ghosh and Sumantra Mukherjee. This round saw three quizmasters – Sumit Roy, Founder Director, Univbrands; Jayashree Mohanka, former VP - Marketing, Eveready; and Abeer Chakravarty, Executive Vice President, Bates 141.

Star News is the Title Sponsor for the event. Radio One is the Associate Sponsor, while Co-Sponsors are SanDisk and Helix Timex. Bloggers Mind is the Social Media Partner, while Creatigies is the Marketing Partner.

Also read:
Star News MQ 2011: Tonight’s the night for the grand finale in Mumbai


Write A Comment