Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Padma honour for Rajat Sharma, Swapan Dasgupta, Prasoon Joshi

Font Size   16
Padma honour for Rajat Sharma, Swapan Dasgupta, Prasoon Joshi

Rajat Sharma, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief of India TV, and columnist Swapan Dasgupta have been selected for the Padma Bhushan for their contribution in the field of Literature and Education. Prasoon Joshi, CEO and Chief Creative Officer of McCann Worldgroup India, will be awarded the Padma Shri for his contribution in the field of Art.

Apart being one of the best-known ad professionals in India, Joshi is also a writer, poet, lyricist and screenwriter. He has won the Filmfare Best Lyricist Award thrice and the National Award for Best Lyrics twice for his work in ‘Taare Zameen Par’ (2007) and ‘Chittagong’ (2013).

Joshi had also written the lyrics for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Swachh Bharat Abhiyan’ in 2014.

Rajat Sharma has dedicated his award to the viewers.

Economist Bibek Debroy -- now a member of the Niti Ayog, IT honcho Mohandas Pai, badminton player PV Sindhu, woman cricketer Mithali Raj, filmmaker Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Arunima Sinha, the first woman amputee to climb the Mount Everest, are the other prominent names on the Padma Shri list.

Senior advocate Harish Salve, former Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswami, constitutional expert Subhash Kashyap and Carnatic vocalist Sudha Raghunathan will be awarded the Padma Bhushan. Microsoft founder Bill Gates and his wife Melinda Gates, and Fields Medal winner Manjul Bhargava have also been named for the Padma Bhushan.

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader LK Advani, Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal and actors Amitabh Bachchan and Dilip Kumar are among the nine Padma Vibhushan awardees. Senior advocate KK Venugopal, nuclear scientist MR Srinivasan, philanthropist Veerendra Heggade, Sanskrit scholar Rambhadracharya and Karim Al Hussiani Aga Khan are the other awardees of the Padma Vibhushan.

The Padma awards, one of the highest civilian awards in India, are conferred in three categories -- Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are conferred by the President at the Rashtrapati Bhawan around March or April every year.

This year, 104 people have been chosen for the Padma awards. The list comprises nine Padma Vibhushan, 20 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awardees. Seventeen awardees are women. The list also includes 17 people from the category of foreigners, NRIs and PIOs, and four posthumous awardees. 


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

For their latest campaign ‘Peeoge toh Janoge’ (English translation: you’ll buy it if you taste it), Wagh Bakri and DDB Mudra gave Sakshi a new, rustic avatar.

Dabbawalas send some extra love along with dabbas to working professional across Mumbai

The Diamond Producers Association brings to life another rare moment as part of the ‘Real is Rare. Real is a Diamond' Campaign