Koi…Mil Gaya steals Zee Cine awards show in Dubai

Koi…Mil Gaya steals Zee Cine awards show in Dubai

Author | Vinod Behl | Saturday, Feb 28,2004 11:19 AM

Koi…Mil Gaya steals Zee Cine awards show in Dubai

Joint performances by Indian and Pakistani artistes at the show underscored the growing affinity of entertainment sectors in the two countries.

Bollywood film ‘Koi…Mil Gaya’ received the Best Film award at the Zee Cine Awards 2004 held at the Dubai Media City on Thursday evening. A capacity crowd of 6,000 and a star list including Amitabh Bachchan, Shabana Azmi, Sharhrukh Khan, Rekha, Preity Zinta, Salman Khan and Fardeen Khan cheered the winners. Hrithik Roshan won the Best Actor award for his performance in ‘Koi…Mil Gaya’. And the Best Actress award went to Urmila Matondkar for her role in ‘Bhoot’. The Best Director award went to Rakesh Roshan, also for ‘Koi…Mil Gaya’.

Yash Johar was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Pan Parag Zee Cine Superstar of the Year (Male) went to Shahrukh Khan, while Preity Zinta won the Pan Parag Zee Cine Superstar of the Year Award (Female).

The gala evening show saw a join performance by Indian and Pakistani stars, stand-up comedy by Shekhar Suman and Omar Sharief of Pakistan and on-stage performance by Shahrukh Khan and Pakistani actress Reshma. The bonhomie between the participants from the two countries was palpable.

A special auction of Zee Cine Award replica was conducted by Salman Khan to raise money for the St. Anthony Old Age Home supported by him. The auction fetched close to Rs 56 lakh.

For more on the awards, the Best Actor in Supporting Role went to Saif Ali Khan in ‘Koi Ho Naa Ho’. And, the Best Actress in Supporting Role was given to Shabana Azmi for her role in ‘Tehzeeb’.

Himesh Reshammiya won the Best Soundtrack award for ‘Tere Naam’. Rahul Dev got the Best Performance in a Villainous Role’ award for his role in ‘Footpath’.

‘Kal ho naa ho’ (Yash Johar/Sony) won the Best Song of the Year award.

A host of other awards were also given out, such as for best lyricist, best singers—male and female, upcoming newcomer—male and female, etc.

The show marked one more step Zee had taken in showcasing entertainment on a mega scale.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment