Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

JWT Chennai, Ogilvy shine at Ad Club Madras’ Tamizh Awards

Font Size   16
JWT Chennai, Ogilvy shine at Ad Club Madras’ Tamizh Awards

Much activity was seen at the Ad Club Madras recently. The Daily Thanthi Tamizh Awards 2010 were given away at a ceremony held on April 30.

JWT Chennai emerged as Agency of the Year and won the coveted Sakalakalavallavan Award. The agency’s metal tally included five Golds, two Silvers and four bronzes.

Ogilvy followed closely and had got equal number of metals, however, JWT got more Golds. Ogilvy’s tally was two Golds, four Silvers, five Bronzes.

Other winners included FESWA, Grey, Hello FM, Radio Mirchi, BlackBox, TCC Group, Integrated Brand Communication, Interface Communications, TWC Films, Primary Colours, McCann Erickson, Fresh Lime Communications, BCS Productions, Leo Burnett, and N&D Communications.

This year, Advertising Club Madras received around 353 entries across 18 categories from 45 organisations. Judges for this edition of Daily Thanthi Tamizh Awards 2010 included: Thomas Xavier, NCD, Orchard Advertising; Ramanujam Sridhar, CEO, Integrated Brand Comm; P Jayendra, Co-founder, Real Image; and KS Chakravarthy, NCD, Draftfcb Ulka.

Daily Thanthi was the title sponsor, while VGN Group was the co-sponsor. Associate sponsor was Ananda Vikatan, while partners included Teacher’s, Union Bank of India, Hello FM (radio partner) and exchange4media (trade partner).

Meanwhile, P Subramanian, who has just joined OTS Hyderabad, was re-elected President of the Club for the year 2011-12 at the Club’s AGM held on April 29, 2011. Television 18’s Seshadri Iyer was elected Vice President, while Elegant Publicities’ Karthic Moorthy was elected Secretary.

The other office bearers and executive committee members elected include:

P Sivaprasad (Ananda Vikatan) – Treasurer
KR Skandraaj – Joint Secretary
R Seshadri (Anugrah Madison) – Immediate Past President
Ninan Thariyan (The Times of India) – Member, Executive Committee
Aro Taffline (Optima Advertising) – Member, Executive Committee
MM Charly (Lodestar UM) – Member, Executive Committee
Ilango (Interface Communications) – Member, Executive Committee
Anbu Chezhian (Law & Kenneth) – Member, Executive Committee

Suresh Srinivasan (The Hindu) and Jagannath Ramaswamy (Crystal) have been nominated to the Executive Committee.

Innovation and connecting with customers in all ways possible is their mantra for successful marketing communication

Bixler revealed that the likes of The Ministry of Tourism, The Art of Living and The Indian Debating Union have partnered with the festival that will be showcasing the culture and diversity of India

In conversation with exchange4media, Vighnesh Shahane, CEO, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, spoke about his vision for this new marketing initiative, how the brand’s marketing efforts through sports have helped them and his business goals for 2018

This agency was born after national brands reportedly struggled to connect with the south Indian audiences

The agency has been awarded the reins of the account in the aftermath of a competitive multi-agency pitch.

In an effort to make Indian roads safer for women scooter riders, leading tyre manufacturer CEAT has introduced the CEAT Safety Grip - a perfect combination of innovation and functionality

Partners with Mumbai Juniorthon as ‘Safety Travel Partner’