Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Jagran presents impact Person of the Year – just a night away

Font Size   16
Jagran presents impact Person of the Year – just a night away

With a little over 24 hours to go for the crowning of the impact Person of the Year 2010, the anticipation in the industry is quite palpable to know who the winner this year is. And it is a formidable list to choose from: Sam Balsara (Madison World), Ravi Dhariwal (BCCL), Arnab Goswami (Times Now), Sanjay Gupta (Jagran), Aroon Purie (India/ TV Today), Vikram Sakhuja (GroupM), Ronnie Screwvala (UTV), Uday Shankar (STAR India), Man Jit Singh (MSM/ Sony), and Rajiv Verma (HT Media). The impact Person of the Year 2010 is presented by Jagran, while IMRB is the research partner.

The winner of advertising and media industry’s most coveted award will be announced at a glittering ceremony in Mumbai on December 16, 2010.

Conceptualised in 2005, some of the biggest names in the industry have been conferred the impact Person of the Year Award. The first impact Person of the Year was Peter Mukerjea (then CEO of STAR India). In 2006, it was Rajdeep Sardesai (IBN Network); the following year, it was Vijay Mallya. Lalit Modi was adjudged impact Person of the Year in 2008. In 2008 itself, based on reader feedback, there was also an impact Person of the Year (Editorial Choice) Award, which was conferred on Raghav Bahl (of Network18). Rajesh Kamat (Colors) was declared impact Person of the Year 2009.

As reported by exhange4media on December 14, 2010 [impact Person of the Year: Industry names its favourites as Dec 16 approaches], quite a few industry leaders have named Arnab Goswami, Editor-in-Chief, Times Now, and Uday Shankar, CEO, STAR India, as their favourites for the impact Person of the Year 2010.

When asked, Atul Hegde, CEO, Ignitee, too, named Goswami and Shankar as his favourites for obvious reasons – Goswami, because of the difference he has brought to how news is delivered, and Shankar, for the way he had taken up the challenge and coming back the winner again. “If there was an example of slow and steady wins the race, here’s one,” Hegde remarked.

Saira Menezes, Editor, People Magazine, agreed with him completely. Samyak S Chakrabarty, Chief Youth Marketer, Concrea, considered Goswami as the most deserving of the contenders because, according to him, Goswami was the “most outstanding” media professional.

Meanwhile, Man Jit Singh of MSM/ Sony, too, seems to be the favourite of many for the turnaround of Sony.

While the list of 10 are some of the most powerful individuals in the advertising, media and marketing space, there can be only one winner. And who that winner is will be revealed in a little over 24 hours...



Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

In week 9 of BARC ratings, the channel led the lifestyle space with 1206 million impressions followed by TLC, FYI TV18, Food Food and Fox Life

During his brief visit to India, Ronen Mense, Vice- President- Asia, AppsFlyer, spoke to exchange4media about app marketing and the new trends one can witness in mobile marketing.

Neha Kulwal, CEO, Admitad, talks about the future of affiliate marketing and the company's growth over the years

The campaign has urged all women to go for an early detection of breast cancer.

The sticky banner appears to show up in YouTube pre-roll ads of other brands, like a standard in-video banner. And the adhesive power of the banner is so strong, that even the characters in the ads ca...

Conceptualized and executed by GREY Group, the latest campaign for ENO demonstrates how the sudden onset of acidity can not only disrupt an otherwise fun moment, but has the potential to derail the ce...