Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

GoaFest 2011: Creative Abbys shortlist announced

Font Size   16
GoaFest 2011: Creative Abbys shortlist announced

The countdown has begun for GoaFest 2011 as the Festival Committee has announced the shortlist for Creative Abbys 2011. Currently, shortlists for the Interactive Digital, Film Single and Print Single categories have been announced. Shortlists for the other categories are expected to be announced soon.

This year, a few changes have been made in the judging process, which includes a close judging process and two rounds of judging. The first round is taking place from March 23-28 in Mumbai. Film Craft and Print Craft categories are still left for the first round of judging, which will take place on March 28, 2011.

The second and final round of judging, which will also be held in Mumbai, will take place from March 31 and will continue till April 4.

As is known, in a bid to address the controversies surrounding the Abby Awards, the GoaFest Committee has created a special Awards Governing Council (AGC) to manage the Media and Creative Abbys. The AGC is chaired by Shashi Sinha, CEO, Lodestar UM India. The Council comprises nine members – AAAI President Nagesh Alai, Times Group’s Dr Bhaskar Das (President, Ad Club Bombay), Percept’s Ajay Chandwani, Aditya Birla Group’s Ajay Kakar, Leo Burnett India’s Arvind Sharma, RK Swamy Group’s Srinivasan Sundar Swamy, Euro RSCG’s Suman Srivastava and Times Television Network’s Sunil Lulla.

Shortlists Announced
Interactive Digital Advertising:
There are a total of 64 entries shortlisted in the respective categories. Webchutney, Mudra Communicatons and Hungama Digital have scored the highest number of entries in the category with eight, seven and six entries to their credit, respectively. The other agencies that have scored their entries are BCWebwise and JWT India (four entries each); Digital Law & Kenneth, Ideas@work, Interface Business Solutions (three entries each); Mindshare, OgilvyOne Worldwide, UFO Digital, Digivaasi, D'Zine Garage, Experience Commerce, Indigo Consulting, Interactive Avenues, Interface Communications (two entries each); Jack in the Box, Maxus India, Pinstorm, Quasar Media, Resultrix Media, Bates 141, Creativeland Asia, Grandmother India (one entry each).

Film Single:
In the Film Single category there are a total of 106 entries that have been shortlisted. The agency that has clearly scored the highest number of shortlisted entries in this category is Ogilvy India with a total of 34 entries. JWT India follows with 12 entries shortlisted to its credit. Creativeland Asia has managed to get nine entries shortlisted in the Film Single category, while McCann Worldgroup has eight entries to its credit. The other agencies that have been shortlisted are Bates 141 (six entries); Contract Advertising, DraftFCB Ulka, Mudra Communications (5 entries each); Capital Advertising, Leo Burnett India (four entries each); ideas@work, Meridian Communications and RK Swamy BBDO (three entries each); Arey Worldwide (two entries); Grey India, Rediffusion Y&R and Stark Communications (one entry each).

Print Single:
There are total of 281 entries shortlisted in Print Single category. Mudra Communications has the highest number of entries in this category at 84. Ogilvy India follows with 34 entries shortlisted to its credit. McCann Worldgroup has a total of 24 shortlisted entries, while JWT India has 20 entries shortlisted. The other agencies that have been shortlisted include Bates 141 and Creativeland Asia with 17 entries each; Leo Burnett India (15 entries); Out of the Box (12 entries); Grey India (10 entries); Contract Advertising (nine entries); Euro RSCG (seven entries); ideas@work (six entries); Rediffusion Y&R (six entries); Alok Nanda & Co, Umbrella Design (four entries each); Bennett, Coleman & Co Ltd India, Eleven Brandworks Ltd (three entries each); RK Swamy BBDO, TCC - The Communications Central (two entries each); and AMO Communications, Crayons Advertising and Goldmine Advertising (One entry each).

The winners of the Creative Abbys will be awarded during the GoaFest 2011 at a ceremony on April 9.

However, few agencies including the likes of Taproot India and Publicis compnies Publicis India and Publicis Ambience have decided to stay away from Creative Abby 2011.

Also read:
GoaFest 2011: Media Abbys shortlist announced; 133 entries



Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship

The group aims to double its FMCG turnover to Rs. 1,000 crore over four years.