Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Every ‘Pappu’ to have his/her day at the Young Achiever Awards 2009

Font Size   16
Every ‘Pappu’ to have his/her day at the Young Achiever Awards 2009

The Ad Club of Bombay is all set for the annual Young Achiever Awards 2009. Interestingly named as ‘Pappu Awards’, the Awards ceremony will he held in Mumbai on September 25. The Awards have been formulated by the Young Turk committee along with the Secretariat of the Ad Club. Sunil Lulla is the Chairperson of the Awards. India Bulls is the sole sponsor for the Young Achiever Awards 2009.

With the Young Achievers Awards, the Ad Club has created a platform to recognise young talent in the industry, Designed for the young, and by the young volunteers of the ad fraternity, these Awards are for individuals below the age of 30 and in the business of brands via advertising, media, related services and business performance.

This year, entries were called for 10 categories – Copywriter of the Year, Art Director of the Year, Film Director of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Designer of the Year, Digital Person of the Year, Media Person of the Year, Best Business Initiative of the Year, Brand Marketer of the Year, and Social Thinker of the Year.

A total 280 entries were received this year, as against 140 entries last year. The jury comprised 21 members, led by Rajesh Jejurikar of Mahindra & Mahindra and Agnello Dias of TapRoot India as Jury Chairmen. The judging took place on September 17 in Mumbai.

Creating a buzz around, the platform saw an interesting campaign conceptualised by Rediffusion Y&R. The creative team was backed by Keegan Pinto, Creative Partner, and Mandar Khatkul of Rediffusion Y&R. The idea was simple, yet interestingly woven around the key theme of ‘Young’. The campaign presented the advertising stalwarts in their early days in the industry.

A poster was created that included pictures of advertising stalwarts like Sam Balsara (Madison), Vikram Sakhuja (GroupM), Shashi Sinha (Lodestar), Piyush Pandey (O&M), Agnello Dias (TapRoot India); Sagar Mahabaleshwarkar (Rediffusion Y&R); Elsie Nanji (Red Lion Design); Jasmin Sohrabji (OMD); Sanjay Behl (Reliance Infocomm), and Sumanato Chattopadhyay (O&M), among others.

The campaign’s media mix included posters, entry kits, print, outdoor, online media, radio and direct mailers.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Shaan Raza, Deputy Managing Director, Optimise, spoke to exchange4media about their journey since inception and their new technology, TrackingX, which they are planning to launch in India by February...

Meanwhile, Radio City and Radio Mirchi ruled Bangalore and Kolkata respectively

The Indian out-of-home advertising company selects Edge1's ERP software platform to automate their OOH business