Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Direct, Radio jury presidents for Cannes Lions 2006 named

Font Size   16
Direct, Radio jury presidents for Cannes Lions 2006 named

Cannes Lions is seeing hectic activities regarding the appointments of jury presidents for the 2006 festival. Steve Harrison, Managing Director and Creative Partner of Harrison Troughton Wunderman (HTW), has been named the 2006 Lions Direct Jury President.

Harrison will preside over the jury in a year when several changes have been made to the Direct competition. The preliminary pre-Cannes 'judging-at-home' round of Lions Direct has been done away with, and all submissions are to be judged at Cannes. The size of the jury, too, has been increased to 30 members, besides the Jury President.

Commenting on the assignment, Harrison said, “I’m honoured to be the first Creative Director to head up the Lions Direct jury. In just five years, these awards have become the benchmark for worldwide creative excellence in our industry.”

Having begun his career at Ogilvy and Mather Direct (now OglivyOne), Harrison has won more Lions Direct trophies than any other creative director in the world. HTW won the inaugural Lions Direct Grand Prix in 2002 and has picked up three Gold, five Silver and two Bronze Lions in four years. At the 2005 awards, HTW won a record nine shortlist nominations and ended up in the runner-up spot for Cannes Lions Direct Agency-of-the-Year.

The organisers said that Lions Direct entries had steadily increased since the launch of the competition in 2002. A record 1,600 entries were received in 2005.

Last week, it was announced that Guillaume Van Der Stighelen, Copywriter and Creative Partner, Duval Guillaume, Belgium, would chair the Radio Lions jury for 2006. The Radio Lions were introduced in 2005.

Guillaume has won 11 Cannes Lions, while Duval Guillaume was the most awarded agency of the year at the 2003 Eurobest awards. (Incidentally, this year’s Eurobest awards are on currently, and results are expected on December 1).

As reported by exchange4media, David Droga has been appointed President for both the Film and Press 2006 Cannes Lions juries.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Launches third phase of TVC campaign ‘Think it. Done’

Based in Mumbai, Usha has nearly two decades of experience in the Indian media and entertainment sector and will serve as a strategic advisor to H+K’s diverse portfolio of clients with a special empha...

Report based on media channel data in 96 countries and detailed findings from the world‘s key ad markets, which between them account for approximately two-thirds of the value of global advertising tra...